Trying Rembrandt Light Technique | MONOMAD CHALLENGE |

Hi, friends of the black and white community. I am pleased to be in this community because I feel that I have received such good support in this community. Some time ago, I posted in this community about my first black and white photo, and I was welcomed by one of the members and received very constructive support and input. Thanks, mate @jlinaresp. Because of that support, I started making my subsequent black and white work. This time it's not about old cars but portraiture.

This photo was taken by accident because finding a professional model it's very hard for a novice photographer like me. And finally, I asked a friend to help me become my model. Of course, she didn't have basic modeling, so getting a pose like a model was very difficult for her. Then finally, we joked a lot to create a good atmosphere, and then I took the photos that I think are pretty appropriate for beginners like me.

In making this black and white photo, I used one lighting with a octabox size of 120 and didn't forget one black background. The drawback is that the black background that I bought is not good quality (or maybe because I'm a beginner, so I can't maximize the ground). The background I use is not a paper background but a canvas material. So there is some uneven light in some of the photos I took. For the next step, someday, I have to buy a background made of paper because some of the photographers I have seen producing good images do not use a canvas background.

The idea in making this photo itself was to adapt the Rembrandt light technique. Because I think this technique is one of the techniques that can display a person's character. However, I have difficulty placing the lights because I only have a room size of 2x3 meters, and I don't think the final result looks like a Rembrandt light, or maybe because the face shape of the model used doesn't look suitable for this technique. I still have a lot to learn about using lighting in photography. For the record, this is my first photo using lighting.

And here are the results:
DSCF4773.jpg

DSCF4768.jpg

DSCF4754.jpg

DSCF4752.jpg

For bonus:

DSCF4759.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center