This is my entry for the #monomad challenge: "Real Carnival Beasts"

Real Carnival Beasts

I still haven't finished nor given up the photos I made during the traditional Croatian carnival parade which took place in Matulji in February this year. Even thou the photos aren't brand new & fresh anymore, they are really unique & unpublished till here & I really like the motives & their quality & all these reasons motivate me to still use these shots...


The next 2 shots are showing some members from the bell-carrier group from Čavle called Grobnički dondolaši. Their traditional masks are really terrifying. They really do look like some demons or the undead & you can see this for yourself here:

_DAP9659.jpg
These were the longest horns worn as a mask on the parade among all of the bell-carrier groups.

_DAP9589.jpg
Can you imagine if the opponents saw these guys on the battlefield? Some legends say that in the past these masks served also against the Turks but before them also against the Mongols & worked pretty efficient against them. The legends say that the huge enemy armies would run away from the battlefield after seeing these guys.


The next 2 shots are showing the traditional carnival masks from Viškovo & the group is called Halubajski zvončari. They are the biggest group & the bad guys but also the hardest keepers of this tradition. Once I went with them halfway on the traditional walkabout from Viškovo to Kastav & back so I witnessed what sort of small tricks they perform along the way...

_DAP9736.jpg
When the bell-carriers rest for a drink they put their masks on the floor.

_DAP9719.jpg
But when they are on their walkabout, especially in "zvončarsko kolo", they are fully into it!




In the next few days I will be publishing more photos from the bell-carrier parade.





This is my entry to #monomad challenge. Thanks @monochromes for keeping up this great photo challenge! You can choose any of the photos from this post as an entry to the contest.



All the upper shots I made with Nikon D800 & Sigma 105 mm 1:2.8 DG Macro HSM lens & for the self-portrait below I used the same camera but different lens - Nikon AF Nikkor 35-70 mm.






Here I also can propose you to use some of the tools which can bring you some passive income or just save you some money - my referral links are aside below too:

Save money with #myworld #Cachback app: https://cbw.to/5qwe9f

There are also very special bank cards for trading many different goods working worldwide & also with crypto currencies:

#Revolut: https://revolut.com/referral/nikica7s3!DEC1AR

#Binance: https://accounts.binance.me/en/register?ref=13081977

#Wise: https://wise.com/invite/ath/nikicak7

Crypto service / exchange / wallet - #Uphold: https://wallet.uphold.com/signup?referral=a2497f43db

The best mobile app for Hive users for me is #Ecency & here is my referral:
https://esteem.app/signup?referral=careassaktart




Show what you got!

Take #Artwid! 😎

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Feel free to contact me via WA, Telegram or Signal - my number is +385 92 372 0382.

Let's not forget Discord, where my nickname is "CareAss"

_DAP9152.jpg


If you like my work, you could support me by upvoting, reblogging, commenting, following...


Big thanks for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center