ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #78: Black & White Photography



Another week, another challenge!

The ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #78 made me quite excited because it's about Black and White Photography.

It might sound simple, but I think it's not. Photographs are stories the photographer want to tell people. It's a tool to communicate. Nowadays, we enjoy the beauty of photos by how colorful they are, or by how they are captured. Photos are also memories that people use to reminisce their experiences... their feelings and a lot more.

In a world where colors send various messages, I think it's challenging to communicate in just black and white. And that's the reason why I think it's challenging to do so. Well, it's challenging, and I'm more than excited to take on this challenge. :)

LET'S START!!!!



The photos that I'm about to show you were taken last Wednesday as my family and I had our Wednesday Walk, but all photos (except for one) I'm sharing on this post are fresh and you won't find them in my previous post. It's because I purposefully took these photos with the black and white photography theme in mind.

They're all taken by my smartphone (RealMe 8 PRO), and edited on Photoscape. I'm going for the antique vibes on the photos, so I hope you enjoy them.

IMG20231004052155.jpg

I adjusted the focus on this one for a bit before turning it into black and white. :) I personally like this shot and I'm quite lucky the city hall didn't turn off the lights yet when we arrived. haha They were turned off just a couple minutes after I took photos. xD

IMG20231004052206.jpg

IMG20231004052216.jpg



I really get the vintage vibe every time I see this lamppost. I took a similar picture several years back, but instead of black and white, I chose to use sepia. The black and white version also looks really good. I had to edit the brightness first, though... I took it when it was still quite dark. :D

IMG20231004055154.jpg

IMG20231004051859.jpg


LOVE. City of Talisay. LOVE. The Philippines.

"LOVE The Philippines" is the latest tourism slogan in my country.

“Love the Philippines is a recognition of our natural assets, our long and storied history, our rich culture and diversity." - Tourism Secretary Christina Frasco



So much for lights, lamps and signs... I also took photos of buildings that would be interesting to look at in black and white.

IMG20231004055833.jpg


This is the back side of our city hall. The front view would have looked good as well, but this view shows a different kind of beauty. The sky also looked pretty.

IMG20231004055742.jpg


This building is what I usually call the "White House" because it's literally white in color. haha Anyway, it's the Department of Justice. It's a place where a lot of life-changing decisions happen.

IMG20231004061132.jpg


It's the Santo Niño church in my city. It was renovated a couple years back. It was already bright when I took this photo, so I decided to darken it a bit to match the other photos' vibes.

It was fun capturing these photos... I was imagining that I was back in time when I took them. Although the original photos were colored, I was trying to picture them out in black and white. Setting the contrast to bring it to life was the most challenging part, but I believe I was able to pull it off.

And this is where my post ends. Thanks a lot for checking them out. See you around! (^^,)/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center