Praying For Luck In The New Year At A Japanese Shrine

img_7239.heic

During the new year, Japan doesn’t celebrate with fireworks or countdown events like other countries. Most Japanese people go to the mountains to see the first light and some people go to shrines to pray for luck in the new year.

img_7129.heic

Imamiya Ebisu Shrine is a small, peaceful shrine dedicated to the god of business and prosperity, which is one of the seven Gods of good fortune. The annual Toka Ebisu Festival is held at the beginning of the new year for 3 days and 3 nights. But because of the Covid 19 situation, the time was limited this year.

First, I headed to the main shrine to pray and offer money to the god of the shrine. After that I walked to get a sacred bamboo branch and brought it home for luck. There were also beautiful girls selling charms to decorate them. I was not surprised that many people were in line to buy them, lol.

img_7244.heic

img_7241.heic

img_7242.heic

This is my sacred bamboo branch. I hope that I will succeed in business this year and the beyond. It is a belief in Japan that I am adopting.

img_7240.heic

img_0768.png

Thank you for stopping by my post. If you enjoyed reading it, please upvote & follow me for more posts and photos about life in Japan 🇯🇵 and Thailand 🇹🇭

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now