My first experience with steak Diana

If you don't know what steak Diana is you can come and sit down right next to me and join the club because up until yesterday I didn't have any idea either. If you has asked me if I wanted some steak Diana I probably would have said yes because it has the word steak in it though.

I ordered it because we were at a birthday party at a relatively expensive restaurant that focused on steaks and it has been my experience in this country of Vietnam that places that serve steak don't generally know what they hell they are doing and definitely don't have steaks on the quality level that they advertise. Therefore, I went for something that was going to be drowned in sauce to make up for what I presumed would be lessor quality meat.


image.png

My aplologies for the out of focus picture but my phone sometimes acts like a jerk and this was one of those days.

Basically, steak Diana is a couple of small pieces of top-blade steak - whatever that means - and it is smothered in copious amounts of mushroom sauce. I love mushroom sauce on just about anything including mushrooms so I knew it was going to be great, and it was.


image.png

I also ordered a side of cheesy mashed potatoes because why not? Who doesn't love cheesy mashed potatoes?

When I say that this place is relatively expensive you have to realize that this is all relative: Vietnam kind of changes your perspective on what things should cost in a general sense so it wasn't expensive, it just cost a lot more than I would normally spend on dinner. My total bill that included I think 6 beers or so was around 750,000 VND which is just a little bit over $30. So I guess you could say that this would be like going to an Applebees or Outback Steakhouse and probably around the same level of quality.

The place is called "Cook Shop" and it is located near the river in Da Nang


image.png

I've been told it is owned by a foreigner but I have no idea if that is true or not. If you want to give it a go, and I recommend you do if you are willing to spend $30 a person for dinner, you can find it here on Gmaps

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now