Mundane Life | Facing COVID-19 Again - A Second Encounter

I mentioned feeling unwell earlier and worrying about having COVID-19. Turns out, I did test positive for COVID-19.

This isn't how I planned to spend my New Year's Day. Fatigue and headaches began on the second day of being infected, but the antigen test didn't show positive until the second day. I began wearing a mask at home and asked my family to keep their distance from me.

After the antigen test showed positive yesterday, I've been in quarantine in my room since then. Today marks the third day since the symptoms started.

1.jpg

I attempted to write a HIVE post, but I was grappling with severe fatigue. I couldn't keep my eyes open for long, and using the computer or my phone for extended periods was worsening my headaches.

This is my second time contracting Covid. The first bout was in September 2022. This time, the symptoms seem a bit more severe. It's possible this variant is more aggressive than the previous one. I'm dealing with severe fatigue, headaches, rashes, nausea, coughing, a runny nose, and, on top of that, I've lost my sense of smell. Dealing with the cough and runny nose is manageable, but the headaches completely knock me off. I'm spending most of my time sleeping and massaging my head to ease the pain. The temptation to take stronger painkillers is strong, but I'm reminding myself to be patient because this will eventually pass.

Being under quarantine in my room means I have to do everything here - eating, reading, and everything else. I'm thankful that my husband, @rencalson, took several days off from work to look after the kids. I really hope I don't pass the virus to them.

2.jpg

Losing my sense of smell has really affected my appetite. I can taste whether the food is salty or sweet, but it's not the same without the smell. Still, I push myself to eat as much as I can to regain my strength. Though I'm still fatigued, I felt a lot better after my fever broke this afternoon. Yet, I know I need to take it easy and rest plenty to fully recover.

3.jpg

That's all from me today. I sense the headache coming back; writing in English demands a lot of mental effort since it's not my native language. Still, a "COVID headache" is easier to handle compared to the "dengue headache" I had when I was hospitalized years ago - it was almost fatal. But that's a story for another time. I'll aim to share an update tomorrow, hopefully with some improvement in my situation.


That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Note: All images used belong to me unless stated otherwise.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!


I currently accept pencil portrait commissions. I'll draw a pencil sketch of your close-up portrait and deliver it to you digitally (high-resolution JPG and PNG files).

Check out my Fiverr gig for more details.

header.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now