The First Sunday Mass for the Month of October

Green Six-Panel Storyboard Photo Collage (1).jpg

The days passed quickly, and we said hello to October a week ago. Most people realized the remaining months we now have before welcoming the following new year. I am always excited about what comes ahead for me, yet this new month made the game change.

My partner, @darrendejesus, will be flying out of the country soon. I think he was planning to write a blog about it for a more detailed explanation.

I am not a religious person who comes to church every Sunday, but I do pray. But having the idea of my partner riding an airplane and going miles away from me made me decide that we should attend Sunday masses in October.

1.jpg

My partner approved and supported the decision since we had to pray and talk to God solemnly in a sacred place. We decided to attend Sunday masses at Carmelite Monastery in Castillejos, Zambales. And we had our first mass last October 2.

We wanted to attend an early mass around 6:00 in the morning. Darren picked me up and drove for a few minutes before getting there. The monastery is located between mountains and is not in the town proper.

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

When we got there, we thought the mass had already started. But we were early. Since only a few people and many seats were available, we decided to take some time roaming around the monastery. We checked out their garden and the surroundings, but we only took limited pictures to respect a holy place.

5.jpg

6.jpg

After a few minutes of roaming around and appreciating the place, we decided to take our seats and wait for the mass to start. A few people also started sitting beside and in front of us. And I snapped out a quick shot.

7.jpg

The mass lasted almost two hours since there were other prayers, like for teachers. When it started, everyone was silent and listening to the sermon. And we also did the same thing the whole time. My partner is a Catholic, and I was baptized as a Methodist. But we both agreed to attend mass in the Catholic Church.

The homily was about living your life following the teachings of God. Sometimes listening is not enough if you do not apply them in reality. It is easy to say that you listen to the words of God, but are you proving it through your actions? And it hits me.

I have realized that it does not matter how much you claim you are Godly, but it is about showing it through actions and decisions you make in your life.

8.jpg

After the mass, my partner and I took a selfie since no one would capture a picture of us. We talked for a few minutes before we decided to head home.

9.jpg

10.jpg

I asked him to drive slowly so I could take photos of the mountain views from the monastery. And I achieved it. We had no time to stay there for another minute since I still had work to do in the morning.

12.jpg

11.jpg



I am so grateful to my readers for taking the time to read my piece. Your support means the world to me. Please accept my deepest gratitude to all of you. I look forward to seeing you on my next blog!

Random Blog.png

Blog #28
Date Published: October 7, 2022
PREVIOUS BLOGS
  1. The Beauty of Nature Showed By Cherry's Clicks
  2. Satisfied Taste Buds: Samgyupsalamat in Olongapo City
  3. Weekend Special: Double-Date Cinema Experience
  4. My Go-To Stuffs When Going Outdoors
  5. A Quick Walk & Glimpse of the Outside World
Want To Connect With Me?
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center