Napolitan Pasta (Japanese Ketchup Spaghetti)

Hello there dear Hivers...
How are you today...?
I hope everyone is fine and blessed...

Today, I want to share to you my version of Napolitan Pasta. This is a Japanese ketchup-based spaghetti, and this is one of Japan's oldest and popular comfort foods.




I’ve heard about this dish many times in some Japanese TV series I've watched and even in some K-dramas. This popular pasta dish was mentioned too. I've also heard it from my daughter @tegoshei also who loves pasta so much and is an anime fanatic.

Then one day, I saw this trailer of a Japanese TV series called, "Fermat's Cuisine" on Netflix and I watched the whole season. It was so nice, inspirational and has an interesting plot or story.


Screenshot from Fermat's Cuisine on Netflix



In this TV series, I saw the process in cooking Napolitan and upon seeing it, I then got inspired in cooking this pasta dish. I'm pretty sure my daughter will be happy when I cook it. I really did it today.

I did not follow all the ingredients and made a little twist to make it my own way of cooking. Actually, this is the second time I cooked napolitan spaghetti. The first one was a couple of months ago and I haven’t joined HIVE that time yet. However, my daughter @tegoshei shared it on her blog, but only the picture.

That was made with different ingredients from the napolitan I cooked today. So, this time I want to personally share and post my own version of Spaghetti Napolitan and I hope you will like it. So, let's proceed to cooking.

Napolitan Pasta (Japanese Ketchup Spaghetti)


INGREDIENTS:


  • Spaghetti Pasta
  • Bacon
  • Tomato Ketchup
  • Mushroom
  • Green and Red Bell Pepper
  • Onion
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • Salt
  • Canola Oil
  • Butter


PREPARATION:






Gather all the ingredients on the table.

Peel and wash the onions. Wash the bell peppers too. Then slice them. I sliced the bell pepper in two different shapes. The red bell pepper in strips while the green bell pepper in a round shape.

Then, remove the mushroom from the can and then slice them. Set them all aside.

Then, I prepared the cooking tools.


COOKING TIME:






Put water in a pot and then add 1 tbsp of salt and 1 ½ tbsp of canola oil. Put it in the stove and bring it to boil. When it's already boiling put the spaghetti pasta. Stir and toss the pasta occasionally until it is cooked and al dente. Then remove it from the pan and transfer to strainer. Strain the pasta with clean water or mineral water. Then set aside. (Note: I took 1 cup of pasta broth and will use it later.)





Now let's prepare and cook the bacon thru air fryer to extract or remove the bacon's oil. Then cut bacon and set aside.





Put a small amount of canola oil in the cooker and sauté the round shape green bell pepper and then set aside. On the same cooker, sautee onion and red bell pepper then add the mushroom. Continue sautéing them and then add 1 tsp of ground black pepper. Stir to mix them properly. Then push or move aside the sauteed ingredients.





Put 1 tbsp of butter on the other side of the cooker and then sauté the tomato ketchup. (This is the process or technique I saw on Fermat's Cuisine that caught my attention and interest...)





Then, mix them all together by constantly stirring. Then, add a pinch of salt and a cup of pasta broth. Cover the cooker for about 2 minutes and then put in the pasta. Stir and toss the pasta carefully. And lastly, add the air fried bacon.





Now, we already have our own Napolitan Spaghetti. I set aside some crispy bacon and round shape green onions for plating. And here it is...




Do you also love pasta dishes...? We do and I can still share different kinds of pasta dishes in my next posts.

I hope you like this Japanese Ketchup Spaghetti, too. Thank you so much for dropping by... God bless us all!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center