ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #122: Roadside Buys



Hello my fellow ASEAN Hivers and friends...
Have a pleasant day to everyone!

Here is my entry for the ASEAN Hive Challenge: "ROADSIDE BUYS".


Since I cannot go out alone because of my health situation, I asked my husband to take some photos of a street vendors he passed by when going to the supermarket in our local area.

And it was also a good timing that my husband had an appointment in Cebu City last Wednesday, so again I asked him for some photos of street vendors he's going to see. And thankfully, he was able to take some photos that I can share here for the challenge. I hope you will like it...

These women who are selling food in the street are my neighbors. They display their foods outside the hardware building every early morning from Mondays to Saturdays.

I witnessed how hard working they are. They even display and sell their foods near the street even if it is raining and I admire their team work. As I noticed, all their foods are being sold out at around 10AM because that is always the time I see them pass by our house bringing their empty cooking pots and casserole on their way back home.



These fruit stalls and charcoal grilled barbecue are also located in my own locality. We sometimes buy some pork barbecue, chorizo and "isaw" (chicken intestine) in this store. They taste so good that's why customers will always line up every afternoon to buy these tasty barbecue.

And my husband always buy fruits from this fruit stall too. They are just a walking distance from our house.



These food stalls can be seen in Cebu City near the "Basilica Minore del Santo Niño Church". We always visit this church everytime we go to Cebu City.

They are neatly arranged on both sides of the same street. The carenderias (small local food stall or restaurant) serve different varieties of Filipino dishes. These carenderias have affordable prices of foods, so many employees from nearby malls and offices come to eat there, too.

And these lines of kakanin stalls (local delicacies) are my favorite stop shop... my daughter as well. They sell local or different native snacks here which are good for pasalubong (souvenir) for their families, relatives and friends. My daughter's favorite kakanin here are masareal and barquiron, while my own favorites are the bibingka and tagaktak.

Masareal is a Filipino delicacy made from finely ground boiled peanuts and sugar. It is dried and cut into rectangular bar and and wrapped in a paper. Barquiron is barquillos filled with polvoron ans some crushed nuts.

Tagaktak is a zingy, crunchy fritter made from a batter of sticky rice, coconut milk, eggs, potato flour and sugar. You will really its crunchiness. While the bibingka is a type of rice cake native to the Philippines.

We can't really resist buying these delicacies everytime we go there. We seldom go there, though.



And these were random street vendors selling shades, bottled water, salted peanuts, green mango, coconut (coconut and coconut milk), cotton candy and a small store selling a variety of candies and chips.

All these vendors are really an inspiration because they're all striving hard to earn a living for their families. Even if it's very hot and even during rainy days, they work hard to earn. I salute them.

Thank you very much for reading my entry. I hope to join next challenge too if I get the chance. See you...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments