GARDENING - Update and Discovery!

Good day everyone! Zak here from Cape Town, South Africa. Today I ventured into my wild wild veggie patch to do some tidying up! Its been a while since I could last just chill out and do some work in my garden and I must say that it is quite a relief!

Something about working in amongst the plants and soil sets my mind at ease. it really is just so much more of a simpler life to tend your own garden that you use to eat and live from.

I wish I could do this full time... in fact... I wish everyone had at least SOME of their own plants that they would grow for food!

Well... let's get into today's pictures and progress!

Now that I have harvested out the parslane and thinned out the basil, the parsley is showing a nice big burst of growth! I am impressed! You can see a nice fat Green Pepper in the background there!

Despite the thinning out, there is still PLENTY basil in this bed!

A week or so ago I had harvested Rosemary from this bush for @clairemobey so she can make some sort of yummy roast chicken! Yum! Now I see that the Rosemary has reacted to this damage by sprouting a whole lot of offshoots!

Outside the Veggie Garden this bald patch of lawn has successfully taken on some young grass! I hope to patch up this whole area soon enough!

More lawn pictures! Going well in this section!

Another clear space here. I will be seeding the shade loveing grass in this area as well!

Meanwhile there is this DISCOVERY! The tiny seedling I got from @lex-zaiya for my birthday last year has grown this! It's about the size of a tennis ball. I am growing a watermelon in my garden!

As I am working and cleaning I harvest basil seeds as well as all sorts of basil, parley and purslane. Going to make some chutney tomorrow!

I have started to clear up that mature purslane at the back. I can't make anything from it so it is going into the compost!

A little bit of work each day will have all of this look spick and span in no time!

The Newest compost is piling up!

The mature compost is ready to rock and roll! I think some of the garden beds will be built up taller soon!

This is my Spekbook plant. I am going to try harvest from it by picking leaves instead of cutting off stalks and then picking leaves. The leaves should just grow back like the little stalks did that I have planted! Soon I will have a bunch of this plant!

This is after the picking... you can hardly see the difference!

But I harvested quite a bit!

All in all, I feel that I have achieved quite a lot in this time!

Happy gardening all!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency