Preserving a Huge Cabbage Harvest - by Suncape

hivegarden-harvesting-.jpg

It was time to finally pick all the cabbages from the large raised bed planted in early April. The Filderkraut Cabbages were huge and now I had to find ways to preserve them all.

Previously, I had picked two of them and made sauerkraut with them. This week I thought fried cabbage would be in order.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-1 (1).jpg

You can see their size and I couldn't be happier with the success as this was the first time growing these cabbages.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-4.jpg

It didn't take long to have three heads washed and chopped for frying.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-6.jpg

I started by sauteing some sliced onions with salt and pepper until they were translucent.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-5.jpg

I added some cabbage and a few spices to perk things up.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-7.jpg

I cooked the cabbage until it softened and let it cool in a bowl. Then I started another round until all the cabbage was fried. I then placed enough for two large servings into each zip-lock bag. Into the freezer they all went to enjoy over the winter months. It will be so nice to warm it up in a pan to add as a side for dinner.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-3.jpg

I still had some left and made slaw with it for dinner. Here is a simple recipe that I always use.

Slaw Recipe

1/2 head cabbage - shredded
1 medium onion - sliced
3 carrots - slivered
1/3 cup of raisins (optional)
1 Tablespoon celery seed
1 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup white sugar

This recipe is dairy-free and perfect for a barbecue on a hot summer's day.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-slaw-1.jpg

Simply chop, sliver, or shred your veggies.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-slaw-2_.jpg

Meanwhile mix the vinegar, sugar, and celery seed together. Stir till sugar dissolves.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-slaw-3.jpg

Mix thoroughly with the slaw and enjoy.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-slaw-4.jpg

This is a fast and easy recipe and I cooked sausages for dinner that night and it was a perfect combination.

Next up, preserving Red Cabbage but that is for another post, stay tuned.

"Filderkraut Cabbage Sauerkraut"

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center