Filderkraut Cabbage Sauerkraut - by Sunscape

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-1 (1).jpg

I did not realize how huge they would get when I planted 4 #Filderkraut Cabbage plants in the center of the large raised bed.

foodiesbeehive-dehydrating-cabbage-3.jpg

It was my first time growing different varieties of cabbage and oh my! I have been trimming the outer leaves and dehydrating them for powdered greens. It has helped some but they just keep on growing into monster-sized plants.

hivegarden-harvesting-.jpg

I picked the largest of the four earlier this week and decided to make sauerkraut.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-3.jpg

After removing the largest leaves I washed the cabbage as best I could.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-5.jpg

It was interesting to see the difference in the form of the cabbage compared to the round head I usually use.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-7.jpg

I thinly sliced it up and placed it into a bowl sprinkling sea salt on the cabbage.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-6.jpg

I also removed the ribs of a few larger leaves and rolled them to cut them into thin strips.

I added a bit more salt and sprinkled in some caraway seeds.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-8 (1).jpg

I tossed it all together and let it sit for a few hours. This allows the cabbage to release its water due to the salt. It usually makes enough liquid to cover the cabbage in a jar.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-ferment.jpg

As you can see I have packed it into a jar

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-ferment-1.jpg

I saved one large leaf to place on top of the cabbage mixture and then put a glass weight on top to keep it submerged under the liquid.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-ferment-2.jpg

I will leave it on my counter for a few days pressing it down as it ferments. After 3 days I start tasting it to see if it is to my liking. When I am satisfied I will remove the large leaf and place the jar into the refrigerator. It will continue to slowly #ferment and get tastier as it does so.

hivegarden-harvesting-cabbage-ferment-3.jpg

The longer you let sauerkraut ferment, the more beneficial probiotic bacteria will form. It is so simple to make and I love having healthy fermented foods to eat.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center