Share Our World: Hillwood Gardens

In my post Share Our World: Hillwood Estate I talked about Marjorie Merriweather Post and the beautiful mansion, Hillwood, that she built in northwest DC in 1955. Now, I want to show you the Gardens. Wow! There 13 acres of gardens surrounding the mansion.

The brick building you see in the picture is where you purchase your ticket and it has the store and information desk.

Then you come out to this amazing array of tulips around the greenhouses. Incredible!

Greenhouse (Orchids)

The Greenhouse was rebuilt in 1996 and contains an extensive collection of orchids and tropical plants. It was amazing walking through this paradise.

Cutting Garden (Tuilps)


I was quite overwhelmed with all the beauty I was seeing and experiencing and it was only the very front of the large estate.

Map of the estate

We saw the Cutting Gardens (Tulips) and Greenhouse (Orchids)

Japanese Garden

Wow this garden was stunning! Amazing to have a Japanese garden right there on the property.

So many amazing details.

And the azaleas' with the Japanese maple and the pond. Gorgeous!


Vista Terrace

These are the views from the vista terrace

Looking straight

Looking Right. Look at those azaleas!

Lunar Lawn

The Lunar Lawn is here Marjorie would have receptions and garden parties.

Coming out of the French Pareterre seeing the Lunar Lawn on the left

French Parterre

The French Parterre is a formal garden surrounded by English Ivy and has manicured plants that is like gardens of the 1700s in France.

Friendship Walk (Azaleas)

Is a path that has boxwoods, rhododendrons and azaleas! The azaleas were in full bloom in April.


Rose Garden

Marjorie's ashes are buried in the rose garden at the base of the pink granite column.

Statues

There are so many beautiful statues all over the property.

Selfies

It was such beautiful place I kept taking selfies all over the place.

Heather had a great time taking picture of me. I love the precious picture of me and Moana and it is fun seeing myself in action in the friendship garden!

I want to go back! I am so grateful that the lady at the US Botanic Garden told me about this amazing treasure right in DC. I am happy to know that it is a 20 minute walk from the Van Ness Metro station too!

Share Our World Series

2022
Share Our World: The George Washington University
Share Our World: Washington Monument
Share Our World: The Sonoran Desert
Share Our World: Spring 2022 Round Garden
Share Our World: Winter Wonderland

2021 posts are here 4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)
All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center