Field Updates - Pumpkins Are Growing!

Hello, everyone interested in gardening! 👨‍🌾

It's been almost a month since my last post about gardening, and since I've been away for three weeks, it's time to write updates about it again.

I'll start with pumpkins because I mentioned them in the title, and I'm participating in the Hive World Pumpkin Championship hosted by @hive-world-champ.
This may also interest @der-prophet, @beeber, @zekepickleman, and @solymi, who are also active in gardening.

Pumpkins are growing! And everything else, including weeds, too :)

We went on holiday three weeks ago and had watered the soil well beforehand. The result when we came back a couple of days ago when my wife and I went to have a look is as follows. Most of our field is heavily populated with weeds; a few pumpkins hide underneath.

My wife and I cleared most of the weeds three weeks ago, but there are still so many in the ground that our effort didn't make much difference.
The only positive thing is that the weeds act as a cover, helping to keep the soil moist. This is also why our pumpkins are growing so well; we haven't had to water them much.

It's the only Hokkaido pumpkin this year. I thought there would be another one, but it doesn't look like it.

This one is still small, and I'm not sure what it is because it's yellow, and Hokkaido is orange.

The rest are butternut squash, pear-shaped but not very large. They mature sometime in November.

Here are my feet to illustrate how big they are. I'm a size 43, so this one is about 33 cm long.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

This one is smaller, but it's thicker :)

I hope they will continue to grow; they need a lot of moisture.
It will still be a long time until November when we pick them. There will be some more; there are enough flowers.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

Now to the other vegetables.
Tomatoes are making the most progress, I think, and we're already picking ripe fruit :) 😋

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

The green beans have grown to the top of the stakes and started to produce fruit.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

Soya beans also grow well.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

We picked up some vegetables. Broccoli, cauliflower, kale, some tomatoes and green beans.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

But the main goal was to harvest potatoes and onions, as the potatoes were affected by potato blight before we went on holiday.

Here, it's commonly recommended to cut the plants, let them sit for a while, and then dig up the potatoes, even though they could continue growing for another month. I typically use a motor cultivator for this, but since there wasn't much, I dug them up by hand.
I don't think there will be enough for the winter, but it's better than having none.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

This year's onion harvest. I can't precisely boast here, either. Too small.
There is one row of beetroot in the background, which is also very small and stagnant. I do not know why; perhaps it's because of the drought.

I'm not sure what to say. I don't want to complain since it seems pointless. But to whom am I supposed to express my concerns?
Anyway, it seems that this year's harvest is not worth the effort and cost. It would be easier and cheaper to buy it in a shop.

Well, maybe I'm overreacting or panicking. It's not over yet. The plants will grow for a few more months, and I can give a final opinion in the autumn.

Wild blackberries from the bushes next to.

This is how we go home.

At home, a feast of freshly picked produce.
That's worth something, too!

Thank you for your attention and for persevering to the end. 😀

My HiveGardening posts this year:
Field Works 1, Field Works And Rain, Field updates - Heat and Growth, Drought, Heat, and Pumpkins, Pumpkins are growing!

And here's something else:
I post everything in the @ecency front-end. So, I invite you to support Ecency Development And Maintenance #4 Proposal because I (and many others, too) would like to keep using it.

Support and vote for those exceptional witnesses:
@good-karma, @liotes, @fbslo and detlev.witness.

📷 😎 📷

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center