Field Updates - Drought, Heat, and Pumpkins

Hello, everyone interested in gardening! 👨‍🌾

A little about my farming again. It's been a little over a month since my last post and it's getting hotter and hotter here, with rain coming out of nowhere...
According to the weathermen, May was the rainiest month in fifty years. For almost the whole of June, and by now, we are in the second half of July, there hasn't been a drop of rain at all! And meteorologists say it will be like this for at least two more weeks! This climate has turned upside down, and we will have to adapt if we want to continue to plant our own vegetables.

My first step in this direction was to bring another water tank (1,000 l) to the field; now I have two. Let's say I'm lucky because I have a river about 70 m away from which I can draw water into the cistern. Even though there is a drought, I hope that the water will not run out now.

On the other hand, this river is prone to flooding in autumn and winter. The photos below are from last year's autumn floods when the water reached the edge of the field.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

It has become extremely challenging, with too much or insufficient water.

I'll start with pumpkins today because I mentioned them in the title. I usually have pumpkins at the end of a post, but since I've signed up for the Hive world pumpkin championship hosted by @hive-world-champ I'll do it now.
@der-prophet, @beeber, @zekepickleman, and @solymi will probably be happy because they won't have to read all the way to the end :)

Despite the drought, my pumpkins are thriving because I water them every few days. I now water them even more frequently, as I have installed two water tanks.
I planted these first.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

These pumpkins are edible, and some of the fruits have already appeared. They are shaped like butternut squash but are not orange. We will see later how much they progress and if they change color.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

On the other side of the field, in the beginning, my wife and I scattered seeds of ordinary pumpkins, the ones used for Halloween, and something took hold. There are also two lines of corn from last year's seed. However, as we have not watered anything for two weeks (we have been at sea), this does not look very promising. Dry all over. I admit I may have neglected this part of the field a little.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

But I believe that with regular watering, the plants will pick up (we are going to the seaside again in a fortnight for a week or so :)). And if it doesn't rain again, I'll have to jump home to water :)

Well, to go further, potatoes are a disaster. A month ago, I was so proud of it; it looked so good. Then it got some disease, potato blight, and within a week, it was all yellow and brown. Disaster. I must dig it up as soon as possible if I want any crops.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

The tomatoes are fine for now. I did notice that some of the leaves have started to turn yellow, which means that they, too, have been infected with potato blight. We have plucked them away. We will see what happens to the fruit.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

We are already picking cucumbers and courgettes.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

Peppers and eggplants are small and require much water for growth, so we will intensify the watering.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

The last three broccoli and the other six have already been cut. Apparently, they are growing again but are smaller.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

Leafy kale: I haven't tried it yet this year, but I'm looking for an interesting recipe to try.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

Young and common beans are climbing to the top, and we eagerly await the fruits.
In between, we also planted ground beans, which have a history of getting sick here and producing nothing. We will have to wait and see how they fare this year.

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

🍆🌱🍅🥕

Finally, here's what I picked up yesterday: radicchio and chard, some green beans, cucumbers, and a few cherry tomatoes.

Thank you for your attention and for persevering to the end. 😀

My HiveGardening posts this year:
Field Works 1, Field Works And Rain, Field updates - Heat and Growth, Drought, Heat, and Pumpkins.

📷 😎 📷

And here's something else:
I post everything in the @ecency front-end. So, I invite you to support Ecency Development And Maintenance #4 Proposal because I (and many others, too) would like to keep using it.

Support and vote for those exceptional witnesses:
@good-karma, @liotes, @fbslo and detlev.witness.

📷 😎 📷

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency