Indoor Seed Garden Update

IMG_5431.JPG

Indoor Garden Update!

Above: Dark basil in front, Celery in back! To the right, Greek Oregano, and Sweet Basil

Taking a Quick look at the Indoor Growing Shelves.


My gardens are typically outside. However, during winter, I do grow some indoors. I plant lettuce, Spinach, and Arugula all winter for fresh salad greens. I also bring inside, some of my herbs, to over winter.

IMG_5420.JPG

Above: Pepper Seedlings
Below: Onion Seeds sown

IMG_5421.JPG


I am growing two new varieties of Pepper: Big Red Bell, and Golden Cal Wonder. As well, I am growing a bunch of varieties that have done well in past years: Purple Beauty Bell Pepper, Sunbright Yellow Bell, Coral Bell, Sweet Banana Pepper, and a medium heat, Lemon Drop Aji.


IMG_5422.JPG

Above: 3 types of Lettuce sown!
Below: Roma Tomato Seedlings

IMG_5430.JPG

The three latest Lettuces: Red Romaine, Little Gem Butterhead, and Butter Crunch. The Roma Tomato, I sowed January 15th. That's a few weeks early for my area, but I am going to try and indoor experiment, and see how they, do, growing in containers a little earlier than norm.

One thing I am still coming to terms with, is the so-called HUNGER GAP. That's the period between when the last of the fall harvest vegetables are eaten, and the first of the new spring food is harvested. Any idea at sustainability, and homesteading means understanding this GAP and planning for it. Whether it is more harvest in fall, more canned goods, or preserved or dealing with an earlier harvest.

The Roma Tomato experiment is an exercise in seeing if I can grow a tomato to fruit indoors, before the typical first harvest, in my area.



If you follow me, you know I prefer to grow my own food for my family and friends. You probably also know, my love language seems to be serving. For my family and friends, that means, cooking and serving them healthy, locally grown food, whenever and wherever I can. Local food has a much lower impact on our local, national, and global environment.

And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.



Do you have a garden? Are you growing your own food? Are you trying for some sort of sustainability, or simply f=growing for fun?

Either way, if is perfect. Let me know below in the comments...




Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid22 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

7000payout.png10500 replies.png220000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center