Garden prepper journal pt. 1

Haven’t written a blogpost in a while – I guess I’ve been distracted with settling into a new rhythm – much has changed in the move from Scotland to the Netherlands. But the beat of the rain and frosty chill outdoors create the perfect weather for writing while cosying up at home. Dus: hello, Hive. And hello, specifically, the @gardenhive community! 🌿

Moving countries is becoming increasingly difficult - what with the things you accrue and friendships you make along the way. The older you get the more you invest in both, and the less transitional your body and mind want to be. I suppose your values change.

Regarding this “state of” or “desire for” permanency, I thought I’d follow up my stekjesroute post by starting a bit of a progression catalogue… of my varied collection. Which, I hope, to see mature enough to fill a house of my own in the coming years. Friends (and 'T Hierder Stekje) have provided cuttings and clippings from many different houseplants, which I’ve been hoarding in jars along my windowsill. An outpouring of TLC has helped these babies mature quite nicely over the last month - they’ve now reached a somewhat “healthy” state. I believe I can now initiate a dedicated HIVE-based plan for record-keeping. And this brings us back full circle, because watching plants grow nicely balances my own search to establish roots and thrive, haha.

So, shall we table them? And see how they develop over the years? I’ve already potted a handful –

Date: 12.10.2024

NameSourceLocationSize (mm)State - waarnemingen
Peperomia alborittata - Peperomia Frost'T Hierder Stekje 07.09.24Yellow teacup jar, windowsill over heater32Good
Musa - Banana PlantColleague 11.10.24White D&K ceramic pot, windowsill over heater63Moderate
Coleus decurrens gürte - ColeusColleague 10.09.24Terracotta pot, windowsill over heater307Healthy
Nerium oleander - Oleander Rose'T Hierder Stekje 31.08.24Blue nursery pot, windowsill over heater110Healthy, slightly yellowing
Tradescantia pallida - Purple HeartColleague 11.10.24Grey nursery pot, windowsill over heater72Healthy
Coleus hadiensis - Cubaanse oreganoColleague 01.09.24, potted 05.10.24Terracotta pot, windowsill over heater72Healthy
Spattiphyllum - Peace Lily'T Hierder Stekje 31.08.24Grey ceramic pot, bookshelf507Withered – was above heater, recently moved to bookshelf
Graptopetalum paraguayonse - Ghost Plant'T Hierder Stekje 31.08.24Terracotta pot, windowsill over heater72Healthy, bottom leaf drooping
Setoria pumila - Yellow FoxtailColleague 01.09.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater160 from rootsHealthy
Geoppartia louisae - Prayer PlantColleague 11.10.24Brown nursery pot, windowsill over heater88Healthy
Hoya carnosa - Honey PlantColleague 01.09.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater195 from rootsHealthy
Monstera adansonii - Swiss Cheese PlantColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater416 from rootsHealthy
Begonia maculata - Polkadot begoniaColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater187Healthy
Gasteria cavinata - Roundtip AloeColleague 01.10.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater93 from rootsRecently plucked, roots not growing yet
Aloe arborescens - Candelabra AloeColleague 01.10.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater72 from rootsRecently plucked, roots not growing yet
Crassula ovata - Jade PlantColleague 01.10.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater80 from rootsRecently plucked, roots not growing yet
Dracaena angolensis - Cylindrical Snake PlantColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater195 from rootsHealthy
Crassula multicava - Cape Province PygmyweedColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater204 from rootsHealthy
UnknownColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater127 from rootsModerate
Hylotelephium sieboldii - Siebold’s Sedum (possibly)Colleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater110 from rootsHealthy
Hedera canaeriensis - Madeira IvyColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater305 from rootsHealthy
Tradescantia fluminensis - Wandering JewColleague 01.09.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater197 from rootsHealthy
Hoya carnosa - Honey PlantColleague 01.09.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater205 from rootsModerate – browning at base
Pilea peperomioides diels - PannenkoekplantColleague 01.09.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater120 from rootsHealthy
Begonia maculata - Polkadot begoniaColleague 11.10.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater115Healthy
Epipremnum dureum - Golden PothosColleague 01.10.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater185Healthy
Tradescantia fluminensis vell - Wandering JewColleague 31.08.24Glass jar, windowsill over heater20 from rootsNot sure if alive or dead

This is my record, to date. I'm curios to see which plants will survive the winter months, although I've been told that so long as I keep the room at a temperature of 19/20 degrees all should be fine. It does get pretty cold here in the Netherlands though...

I'm predicting plenty more flora will join the table, or leave the table - houseplants truly are the best gifts, and I have many duplicates. And, having taken plants from 'T Hierder Stekje, I need to give back at some point. Hm. Also, some are clearly on the brink of death... take the Wandering Jew for example. Every time I look at the poor thing I can't help imaging a little voice calling...

But seeing as it was gift from a colleague's husband, I really can't part with it until I know for sure it's joined the Choir of Invisibles.

And now for photographs! Wonderfully, I did manage to find some older images taken on my iPhone a month before - taken after having moved into my new home - it's fascinating to compare the growth of these plants already, so I've included them for comparison. (I mean, look at the roots?!)

Please excuse the poor quality of later images... My iPhone is in desperate need of a replacement, haha.

Coleus decurrens gürte - Coleus

Hoya carnosa - Honey Plant

Pilea peperomioides diels - Pannenkoekplant; Musa - Banana Plant; Tradescantia pallida - Purple Heart

Spattiphyllum - Peace Lily

Setoria pumila - Yellow Foxtail

Begonia maculata - Polkadot begonia

Dracaena angolensis - Cylindrical Snake Plant

Geoppartia louisae - Prayer Plant; Epipremnum dureum - Golden Pothos; Begonia maculata - Polkadot begonia

Hedera canaeriensis - Madeira Ivy

Nerium oleander - Oleander Rose

Hylotelephium sieboldii - Siebold’s Sedum (possibly); Unknown; Tradescantia fluminensis - Wandering Jew;Tradescantia fluminensis vell - Wandering Jew - the one that looks both alive and dead

Crassula multicava - Cape Province Pygmyweed

Graptopetalum paraguayonse - Ghost Plant

Pilea peperomioides diels - Pannenkoekplant

Gasteria cavinata - Roundtip Aloe; Gasteria cavinata - Roundtip Aloe; Crassula ovata - Jade Plant

Coleus hadiensis - Cubaanse oregano

Monstera adansonii - Swiss Cheese Plant

Hoya carnosa - Honey Plant

Note: please correct me if I managed to misname anything. I relied heavily on PlantNet and Google Images.

The Peace Lily, having positioned it on top of the bookshelf, has made a speedy recovery over the course of a month. The Banana Plant, having only recently joined the crew, is looking fairly miserable. Hopefully it can be salvaged... For the rest, I guess we'll see. 😉💚🌿

This has taken a few hours to collate, haha. What one does with their Saturday afternoon... prioritising recording plants over - oh, I don't know - meeting people or exploring. Shopping for food. Rather important. I've lost track of time - again. Joy!

I'd best be going, but happy to have pulled this altogether. And I guess we'll return in a few months - fingers crossed for some visible development.


Disclaimer
Blogger: @actaylor
Photographs: unless otherwise noted, all images were taken by me with an iPhone 8

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center