This content was muted by Weekend Experiences moderators for not following community guidelines.

Stekjesroute: 'T Hierder Stekje planten ruil kast

Will try to keep this brief, but I stumbled across the most wonderful thing today - the Stekjesroute. (The word "stekjes" refers to cuttings or small plant clippings, and "route" means route or path.)

The Stekjesroute is essentially a community-driven plant exchange route where people can share and exchange plant cuttings with their neighbours and other plant enthusiasts. This cabinet, located outside Moneigneur Soudantstraat 14 in Maastricht even has it's own Instagram page with the mantle hierderstekje.

Having looked into the concept behind the name, I felt I had to write about it. It's brilliant - individuals who join the Stekjesroute initiative leave labeled plant clippings outside their homes or in public spaces for others to take. There is a little sign attached to the open door of this makeshift wooden plant shack which states that "the rules of the game" are based on a "give-take" transaction: you can exchange your own plant/cutting for another one.

Klavertjes voor gelijkwaardig ruilen - source

Although I came by bike and had no plants on me, I'm currently growing a plethora of different species on my windowsill from cuttings gifted by work colleagues... So, there will come a time when I will "give back" to the 'T Hierder planten ruil kast - in the meantime though, I did deposit a small donation into the mailbox as directed. Then, having abruptly discarded my food quest in all the excitement, I filled my red bag with a spathiphyllum (peace lily), a budding oleander rose, a climbing cactus, a perle von nurnberg, and some papaver seeds.

If you're interested in the Stekjesroute, the group has a social media presence - linked here. If you're interested in getting involved, the screenshot below presents an overview of all plant exchange cabinets that have joined Stekjesroute thus far. (They are listed alphabetically by country, province and city on the webpage -accessible here.) Currently there are 321 exchange places, of which 285 remain open. If you'd like to register your own planten ruil kast, you can sign up here.

Overzicht van alle open plantenruilkasten - source.

Fostering sustainability and a shared love for greenery... well, there are worse hobbies to pick up.

A few of my own fresh cuttings at home!


Disclaimer
Blogger: @actaylor
Photographs: unless otherwise noted, all images were taken by me with an iPhone 8

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center