[ENG-SPA]The first video game I played / El primer videojue que jugué.

Today I am going to tell you a story, one that we have all lived in different ways, the day I played what I consider my first video game. In the early 2000's, a young Teutron accompanied his father on his job, one of the stops was at the bar of a local soccer club. This bar had a racing booth that I can't remember if it was Daytona, Sega Rally or one of the Cruis'n as we didn't play much in it, and a few arcades which I remember vividly, like Snow Bros.

image.png

They were hours and coins spent in this game, the memory of the sounds of this arcade are unique and together with my brothers it was known that if we used a coin we passed a few bosses.

Another of the arcades was the Knights of the Round

image.png

To this day I am surprised how far we got in this game despite its difficulty, those were other times, each coin had to be taken care of like gold and surely this was what made us enter "the zone" and surpass several levels. The strange thing is that with my 2 brothers we never fought to choose the same character because each of us had a different one as their favorite. Mine was Perceval.

And finally, the game that changed everything for me.

bloggif_6201df0eec05a.gif

I consider it the first video game I played because it's the one I am most aware of. Even though I had the Sega and the Family Games, I don't remember any console game in particular as the first one. However, Street Figther II Champion Edition displaced those memories, maybe because of its gameplay, maybe because of its graphics, maybe because of the iconic characters. Whatever the reason, I still remember it as my first video game. There are moments that stuck with me, like a game against my older brother, with our last 2 coins, Balrog vs Balrog, a character that neither of us used and I ended up winning.

Or the moment when, with Ken, after spamming the Hadōken at some point, A FIRE ONE CAME OUT, with my younger brother we were amazed with that which we could never see again.

Every skill we discovered, every fight we won, the nicknames we gave to some fighters, for example Vega was "The one with the claws", Balrog was "The boxer", Bison was "Captain Bad" and Guile was "Captain Good", some nicknames were more obvious. Every coin spent in that game was a guarantee of a unique afternoon.

But unfortunately I never got to defeat Bison in the arcade, the farthest I got was Sagat, and I always had that thorn of not being able to beat the game at that time, but well, it was too difficult for a child to reach Bison with only a few chips.

And here ends this story, I hope you liked it and got a little nostalgia through these games I named.

See you in a future publication.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center