The Sims 4 - Is it really a Snowy Escape?

Hello and welcome back for a new expansion pack. I remember I was so excited for this expansion pack, and I was really looking forward to skiing and try different kind of winter sports.

But sadly the joy didn't last that long. But at least there is a lot to do and a lot of nice and new features. Let me take you through my experience with The Sims 4 - Snowy Escape.

As you can see it's always snowing up in the mountains

You don't have problems with finding things to do in this expansion pack,

but there is a few things I didn't like that much. One thing I was looking forward to in this expansion pack, is the winter sports. But going on snowboard and skiing should be a little bit more effective. My joy over Snowy Escape didn't last long and one of the reason was because of that. But you only have 5 levels of snowboard and skiing, and that may be the reason.

But I rather watch my sim sleep than skiing, because it takes so long time for my sim to just come up to the top of the mountain. And you maybe have to wait in line to go skiing too.

My sim first time she is skiing.

Tried the slide with a friend. This is a nice feature that you can actually slide with friends and not only alone

Waiting in line for skiing is also a bummer. If you are lucky there will be no waiting.

Be prepared of a lot of snowstorms. Your sim will hate this weather (of course), and they will always chose to run inside if the weather is this bad.

This expansion pack is showing off that the sims creators have a thing for Japan.

The Snowy Escape world looks like a place like Japan, you will find a lot of traditions from Japan in this expansion pack. I really like it, and that is the charming part of Snowy Escape.

I'm not well known of Japanese traditions and some of the new features, so I'm sorry if some of my facts are wrong. Just correct me if you want!

One of the new things you will find in this expansion pack is a bathhouse. You got new stuff for a wardrobe, some new showers, and a big sauna.

Remember to take a shower before going out in the sauna. People will hate you if you going out dirty. This is a nice add, because if you go out in a normal swimming pool no one will care if you are dirty. But here you can actually contaminate the sauna.

Skjermbilde 2021-09-11 kl. 17.09.06.png

I bought this bathhouse from the gallery. And here is the sauna

The other thing I like in this expansion pack

is that you can make a meal with other people and it's a really nice way to eat and be social. Hot Pot meal-sharing is an item I always add in every sims inventory in their kitchen. And I think Im going to buy one for myself too, haha!

Nomnomnom

With this expansion pack you will see this mascot maybe all the time.

But he is mostly seen on the snow festivals. But you can see him walking around in the neighborhood now and then.

Selfie with the mascot

Snow festivals looks like this.

It's a place where you can try different kinds of food, and be social and of course meet the mascot.

Snow festival

Who doesn't like food?

You can also buy simmicapsule where you can get different kinds of items. I'm not really known with these capsules but the items is kind of cute and you can trade them on the flea market.There is a lot of different kinds of simmicapsules, and you can collect them if you want to.

You will find vending machines everywhere around KOMOREBI. You can buy food, drinks, simmicapsuels and sometimes outfits for the festivals.

Skjermbilde 2021-09-11 kl. 17.12.46.png

Another festival is the lightning festival.

You can wish for something under the bamboo three and buy a kimono to wear. You can also eat sushi or other Japanese dishes. It's nice that you can use these meals in your meny if you own a restaurant too.

The downsides of these festivals

is that I don't think these festivals have enough to do. It should be something more happening. But it's a nice touch and the festivals is a nice idea just to make the sim go out of their houses to be social and eat some nice foods. There is also always fireworks at the end of these festivals.

Skjermbilde 2021-09-16 kl. 16.43.25.png

I would really love these lights to be lit up. But the creators of this expansion pack may have forgot it while making it (or just a bug?). Whats the point of a lightning festival when the lights aren't lit up 😅

I have saved the best for last

I didn't experience this part of the expansion pack before now. Just because I didn't actually knew about the walk in the park, or that you can do different kind of hikes in this bamboo wood. That may be the reason why I didn't chose my other sims to live here, because it wasn't really an excited place to live. Maaaaybe because it's cold all the time, and more dark than every other places on the sims.

Going on a hike is one of my favorite things in this expansion pack. You can chose to take a meditative walk, jogging or just a normal hiking trip. It's not an ordinary hike because you can meet different kind of insects, forest spirits and it can lead you to shrines, memorial sites, waterfalls and more nice things along the way.

Buy clicking these green forest spirits you can chose to make a wish or collect them

Skjermbilde 2021-09-15 kl. 16.22.38.png

Skjermbilde 2021-09-15 kl. 16.22.03.png

Skjermbilde 2021-09-15 kl. 16.02.53.png

Skjermbilde 2021-09-15 kl. 16.16.49.png

Skjermbilde 2021-09-15 kl. 16.17.43.png

This place is really cool

A nice little add while hiking

is that you can read on different signs all over the town about the dangerous animals around town. You can for example be told to stay inside that night because of bats.

I recommend you to buy medicine supplies and some insect spray before walking in this park, because you can get bit or get ill of different kind of insects or animals.

Some disgusting insects

One thing I learned waaay too late is that you can also do a hike up to Mt. Komborebi. It's very similar hike like the bamboo woods, just with snow and some other things to see.

Skjermbilde 2021-09-23 kl. 15.08.55.png

Skjermbilde 2021-09-23 kl. 15.10.18.png

There isn't often sunny days, and that kinds of bugs me and makes the mood a little bit dark. These pictures down below is taken in the middle of the day, and it feels like its dawn.

I live in Norway and I'm well known of the fact that it's much darker in the winter and some days are way too dark. It's more depressing, and I think the creator should have thinking about getting it a little bit lighter in the days regardless if it's snowing.

You can make snowangels and a snow man. The making of a snow man had a bug so my sims didn't want to make anything. The snow man turnes out different. Some snowmans are angry and others are happy. I think this depends on the mood on your sim

Both these houses is rentals and it's downloaded from the gallery. I couldn't find the creator of the first house (this should be easy to find in the gallery, but that isn't any option). But the house on the right side is made by DUNCANJK3 and the house is called Modern MT. Komborebi Home

All in all, I expected more effective way to snowboard and skiing. But there is actually a lot of things to do, but not so much I really could enjoy for a longer period. I wouldn't be without this expansion pack at all, but it's not my favorite either. But there is some nice new adds of for example inventory, feelings and clothes (I could finaly have some nice winter outfits who fits the winter sooo good).
If you ask me if I recommend it I would say yes, because I actually will recommend every game- and expansion packs on The Sims 4. But if you should priority this expansion pack also depends on what you like.

There is of course more adds and things to do in this game, and some nice places to visit. And I think the buildings the creators had made to this place is really nice. But I can't tell and show everything.

Have you tried this expansion pack or do you want to try it out?

Thank you for reading! 😍

I have written about my experience with the expansion and gaming pack Realm of Magic and StrangerVille.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency