The Sims 4 - My experience with the expansion pack Realm of Magic

One of the expansion pack I didn't look anything into when I first got it, is The Sims Realm of Magic.

One of the reason is because I thought it couldn't be that exciting. Then why did I even buy it in the first place?

I love when I could get more things to decorate and make a prettier place and more options. There is a lot of nice things in this expansion pack, and I didn't regret that one. Going trough portals is also a really nice feature.

My Sim in a match against an another wizard.

What I didn't like

There should be a little bit more things to do. Or maybe some more hidden and difficult stuff to have as a goal. I kind of miss a few things who can make the journey being a vizard, a little bit more exciting. It's way too easy to become a vizard and I miss some surprises like many other expansion pack have.

Reading like a vizard

Life is easier being a vizard

Well, maybe everyone can agree on that. Maybe not Harry Potter, he have a lot of struggles through life. Poor Harry. But in Sims you can with a spell make food, clean yourself (or others or your apartment), or you can make people fall in love with each other. And you can make a garden with many herbs and fruits with only one spell. You can repair things, and you can travel faster and easier if you have a broom. You can make other people become a vizard too. If you like an easy life - become a vizard.

Right after becoming a vizard

One of the things you can do is making macaroni and cheese in the cauldron, or you can mix herbs and make different kind of potions. I haven't really used any potions, but there is some good ones to improve your sims life.

Skjermbilde 2021-08-24 kl. 19.02.36.png

This is how far I have become in all the spells I have learned, and how much that is left.

You can actually get everything on this list. Just be an active vizard.

Trying to kill (of course I had to write about this):

As a wizard you can set things and a sim on fire, make people freeze, make your garden grow, and turn people into different kind of things. You don't decide what kind of things, but it's a little nice surprise to see what it turns into.

I'm sorry, but Thanksgiving in sims is the worst holiday

,ok, maybe the one where you have to fight with a sim is even worse. On Thanksgiving I never figure out when these garden gnomes is happy or angry. And they can be really annoying if they are angry... or just follow you around in the house. It's not in a Norwegian tradition either (both Thanksgiving and garden gnomes to follow you around in the house), so I though maybe I could try to set it on fire. I'm (not) sorry. Haha

How it starts...

... and it actually burned better than expected.

The alarm went off and the firefighters came. But they just stood there while it burned. These firefighters need to find an another job. And when I'm talking about it. Why isn't it a job to become a firefighter?

Make a spell to plant herbs and fruits.

I don't chose witch kind of herbs and fruits, but I actually got a plum-, apple-, and a pear tree in my sims garden. Would love that in my own garden 🙁

This doesn't look good, but you can edit it and place it where you want. But I took the picture right after I figured it out.

Not the prettiest trees in the world, but at least there is some fruits and herbs in my garden

I think it's fun to make spells on people.

First I tried it to see if they died. But they didn't. Even though I freeze them, set them on fire or turned them into different kind of things. If I chose to turn the other sims into an item, they turn back to themselves after a few sim hours. And the only
consequences is that they just like you a little bit less. But not that much that they hate you. Not even normal sims around your sim care if you makes spells or arriving on your broom. I would like some positive or negative reactions.

My sim making a spell to turn Jasmine into...

... a rabbit. A cute one at least.

My next sim I tried a spell on...

... turned into a teddybear holding a heart.

An another guy I turned into a statue, haha.

I feel bad for the next guy.

At first, I sat him on fire, then I freezed him. AND HE DIDN'T DIE. It might sound like Im' a made killer (especially of you read my earlier post), but when you can do spells, you have to try it.

Skjermbilde 2021-08-25 kl. 20.40.50.png

I have to explain the killing thing a little bit😂

I love making new sims and make a sim with a new history. No one of my sims are the same. BUT, at one point I have to kill my sims because there is becoming too many (I'm playing on a MAC, so the game gets slower if I don't do it). The option it to make them old and but dying is taking too long this way. Of course, I can just delete the whole family or sim, but I like to see their ghost and remember the sim history.

One of the things I realized very late

is that my Sim could win brooms and a wands in matches with an another vizard. I once tried it with one of the best wizard, and I actually won a broom with red rubies in the ends, kind of nice. I feel rich, HAHA. Maybe it's the diva version of brooms😂

My sim is flying back home after a match

An another type of broom

One of the best thing in the game

is that you can have Familiars. You can win new ones in different kind of matches between an another vizard.

These are my favorites I have won:

A glowing scull

A flying glowing ball. Or maybe a lookalike like the Golden snitch in Harry Potter?

An another kind of creep

But the absolute best Familiar

is actually YOUR OWN CAT OR DOG. I realized this very late, just because I didn't have any animals because I thought it would disturb my journey to becoming the best vizard (I love taking care of my animals). I recommend to chose an animal that love being on journeys. They can find things to you too if they are your Familiar.

Your Familiar gives you feedback and motivates the sims. And the chance to win matches is much higher if you have your Familiar. But it takes more time to your cat or dog to arrive at a match.

My cuuuute cat

Thank you for reading my little journey through this expansion pack.

It's not my favorite, but it was really nice to try it out. I will give you an update when I'm becoming the best vizard.

Have you tried this expansion pack?
What is your experience?

My sim trying out a new mix in the cauldron.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency