This content was muted by Hive Gaming moderators for not following community guidelines.

Tennis World Tour 2 let me down big time

Tennis World Tour Thumbnail.jpg

Please don't make me play this more

I mentioned yesterday that August 2021's PlayStation Plus titles originally had me pretty excited. It turns out there is no reason at all for me to celebrate the new additions to my PlayStation library. Today we will continue my disappointment for this month's free games by talking about Tennis World Tour 2.

When the free games first leaked, I was pretty hyped, but the majority of people were mad about the lineup right away. For some reason I had hope, after all, I have been able to enjoy playing tennis in real life recently. Sadly that didn't translate into the same enjoyment with this tennis video game.

Back in the day, I loved tennis games. I enjoyed the older Mario Tennis games as a child. I would play them with my friends around the neighborhood. I played the demo version of the original Topspin game on my Xbox when I first got it. Then I played the daylight out of Topspin 2 on my Xbox 360. That was my last experience with any tennis video game, way back in 2006-07.

I had high hopes for Tennis World Tour 2, I thought for sure it would be good. Shortly after the PS Plus games were no longer a rumor and were officially announced, then began my disappointment. I quickly realized that I wouldn't be getting the brand new next-gen upgrade of World Tour 2, instead, I was going to get the lesser PS4 version. Of course, I was going to have the option to pay $25 to upgrade to the PS5 version, but there was no way in hell I was going to fall for that cash grab.

Still yet, I decided to give the game a shot. Immediately upon logging in, I was forced to open a bunch of skill card packs. I was pissed off right away, as I think adding strategic cards to sports games makes adjusting them for play a total pain. I just want to get in and play, not manage imaginary cards that upgrade stats. Luckily I found the option to disable the cards, but I had already been rubbed the wrong way by the immediate greeting.

Let me say a few positives, just so I don't sound like a negative nancy. The music was right up my alley, some EDM was bumping in the main menu and I enjoyed it a lot. During the match was dead silent, which felt like it was lacking pizzazz. The character selection was huge, including men and women, although I don't know most of the current tennis stars. I decided to play a singles match with Roger Federer versus Rafael Nadal, two guys that have been around for years. I decided to be Nadal but regretted it as soon as I realized that he moans like a bitch every single time he hits the ball, it was quite hilarious.

The gameplay itself was, well, tennis. It just didn't feel as fun as I remember it being when I was younger. The serves didn't feel as powerful as they did in the past. Even regular volleys just lacked that feeling of impact. Maybe it would be different with the PS5 version, not sure if they implemented DualSense haptics or not... you know since I got locked out of that version without paying $25 for a FREE game.

I'm sure this game has a lot to offer with its career and character creator, I just couldn't push myself to actually begin any of that. After getting my ass beat in one match, I was done and no longer interested in the game. It's sad that I wasn't able to get into World Tour 2. I guess I will just stick to playing tennis in real life with my homie Lee.

If you want to watch everything that I experienced with Tennis World Tour 2, that is what the video is for. I recorded all of my gameplay and you can bet that I had my mic on too. I hope you enjoy my impersonation of Nadal.


Thanks for checking out my video 😎🤝

hiveordieextendedart1.png

Hive Artwork by: @daltono

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Message me on Discord 💬Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦Create a free Hive account 🗽
click heredaltono#5080click hereclick here
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments