This content was muted by Hive Gaming moderators for not following community guidelines.

I got a PS5 preorder and a free video game

BE24E0B42A6F4A07B321605515CB7CE1.jpeg

Ever since I got the platinum trophy for Ghost of Tsushima, I haven’t had a video game to play. I decided upon Horizon Zero Dawn as my next game since I found the complete edition on sale for only $13 on the PS Store last week. So far the story and environment in the game are fantastic. I’m not hooked on the gameplay just yet, we will see if that changes after more time with it.

AFC5F29194214D779D275DA7FF01190D.jpeg

I woke up to an email from GameStop this morning talking about a Cyber Weekend sale and I saw this as the perfect opportunity to pick up 3 games that I have been dying to play.

123343AFB3744746B076983DEF5ED0BE.jpeg

I was able to hold back on these games’ launch days and wait to get them all for the price of one new game many months down the road. It pays off to have some self control. The games I chose were:

  • Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order
  • Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Need For Speed: Heat

They should arrive sometime next week. Until then I will keep playing Horizon and the other surprise free game at the end of this blog.

422560EE0B8A4EDB98A4171B55A1E0F2.jpeg

PlayStation 5 preorders went live early and I missed out at first. I thought I was totally screwed on securing my next-gen console. Thankfully that is not the case, I was able to preorder my PS5 (with the disc drive) through Wal-Mart last night.

AAD4EC00992F4F78AA38692CAC739AB0.jpeg

How did I do it you ask? By following these 3 Twitter accounts and turning my notifications on for their tweets.

Thanks to updates from all three, I was able to get on Wal-Mart the instant that another wave of PS5 preorders became available. The webpage was very sluggish, but after nearly an hour of trying I was successful. Maybe you can try doing the same, I’m sure there will be more opportunities to preorder.

9603B6900BBD429AB3CFF07B2E34631B.jpeg

I was given one last gaming surprise to make this an exciting weekend for my gaming life. Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War has a FREE alpha available exclusively to PS4 players only. The alpha will only be playable September 18-20 and you don’t even have to have PlayStation Plus to play it either.

No worries, if you don’t have a PS4 or are going to be busy this weekend, you can still enjoy the beta in October. More info on that on https://www.callofduty.com/blackopscoldwar/beta.

I’m thrilled to get try this Call of Duty out early, at this point COD has become a yearly ritual since 2005. It is one of the greatest FPS game series of all-time and Call of Duty 2 was the first game I ever played in HD on Christmas Day 2005 when I got my Xbox 360. It’s amazing how each year they continue to innovate with COD.

I briefly played the Black Ops Cold War alpha earlier today for almost an one hour. This allowed me to play four matches, so I can give a decent opinion of what the game felt like.

It’s safe to say that this is still good old fashioned Call of Duty. The pacing was quick, the time to kill was fast too. I love all of the color, especially in the Miami map. The alpha gives access to over a dozen guns and plenty of attachments for each.

I think my favorite part is the bright colors for the environments. Last year’s Modern Warfare had such a muted color palette. I will probably purchase Black Ops Cold War, whether it be on launch day or not. I like having it when I just want to jump into a quick multiplayer FPS game and have some fun.

Thanks for checking out my blog!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now