(New World) Fishing with a goal for the Medleyfaire event

newworldeventdetails1.jpg

No Paint title image today! Screenshot taken from New World website.

New World is having its Summer event, The Summer Medleyfaire, an event that focuses on dance, fishing, and music. The event was also an introduction to playable instruments in-game as a new trade skill, Guitar, Mandolin, Upright Bass, Drums, and the flute can now be crafted and when a player starts a performance they can enlist other potential musicians to join in!

That was the main draw for most other players but what got me 'hooked' was the fishing aspect of the event. The chance to get a unique skin for my fishing pole and a way to mount any thing I caught into a trophy I could place in my owned house!, It was too good to pass up.

newworldeventgoal.jpg

It will be mine!

newworldmount.jpg

The fishing pole skin could only be obtained by achieving enough event points to gain access to level 5 items so it was going to take some work but that's okay, I enjoy fishing in video games.

newworldeventdetails.jpg

Now that I knew how the event worked, I was off! I started with gathering the event bait by visiting the marks on the map and performing the 'Maudlinbug Haze' song to attract the bait bugs.

newworldmusic.jpg

newworldmusic1.jpg

Stylin. The blue lights are Maudlinbugs.

That allowed me to attract the event fish, Aeternum Sturgeons, when fishing but sometimes I would come across a special hot spot that had the Aeternum Sturgeons leaping out of the water!

newworldsturgeonhotspot.jpg

newworldsturgeonhotspot2.jpg

newworldsturgeon.jpg

Reelin' them in

Small, medium, and large Aeternum Sturgeons were fished up and I salvaged them for their precious event materials.

newworldfishitems1.jpg

The large ones had a chance of giving me an additional material, 'Enchanted Aeternum Sturgeon Fishbone', that I could throw into a pyre at the Medleyfaire event areas.

newworldfishitems.jpg

newworldeventpyre.jpg

newworldeventpyre1.jpg

Throwing fishbones into a fire near the dance stage might be a bad idea

I did this for a few hours a week and got plenty of the event currency but for gaining more points to increase my event level I danced at the four medleyfaire event areas in the world for 250 points each meaning 1000 points a day.

newworldeventdance.jpg

Also all of the settlements around the world had bestowments that gave event points and caches of materials to create the mounted trophies so there were plenty of ways to gain event points.

newworldeventcity.jpg

I finally got to the level required on the event board and could purchase my fishing pole skin!

newworldeventgoalcomplete.jpg

newworldfishingskin1.jpg

newworldfishingskin2.jpg

literal FISH ing POLE

and the two trophy mounts I wanted displayed in my house!

newworldmount3.jpg

newworldmount5.jpg

newworldhouse.jpg

newworldhouse1.jpg

Caught this sucker while waiting for a PVP queue

newworldhouse2.jpg

Who doesn't want an anchor?

With my goals met I can finally play the game... Well, let me try out the new fishing pole!

newworldfishingskin3.jpg


The event is still going on and while I could get other things like instrument skins or unique emotes for my character I feel satisfied with my purchases.

I usually ignore MMO events because they often turn into another tedious grind for minimal rewards but I enjoyed participating in this one.

If you have any questions about the MedleyFaire event on New World or want to share your experiences with events in other games, please leave a comment! I would enjoy reading your comment.

Thank you for reading my post and I hope you enjoyed!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center