[Clearing The Backlog: First Impression] BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger

Even though I suck at fighting games, I was interested in BlazBlue franchise for a long time. I got Calamity Trigger from a bundle and I already downloaded and tried it last month, but I didn't play it for long.

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger is the first 2D fighting game in HD by Arc System Works. The game features ten fighters with unique fighting styles and interconnected stories. The story mode has some Visual Novel elements to it.

20200617121751_1.jpg

Like with all fighting games I play, I cared more about the story mode of BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger, than any other mode. I didn't touch the Arcade Mode in my first impression playthrough. I played both Ragna and Jin stories, but both of them ended abruptly and the completion counter of both didn't reach past %50 for some reason.

I think I need to replay the stories and make different choices to unlock the rest of their storis, but they may be only unlocked after clearing a certain percentage of of other characters.

20200617124233_1.jpg

The gameplay is very soild, but I'm not a good judge for fighting games. I did lose more often than I won while playing the stories, but competitive (fighting games) players might think that the game is too easy. I find it easier to win while playing as Jin since his fighting style works better in long range and I don't need to use a lot of combos to win!

One interesting things that happened while I was playing the game is that my controller will take different input for when I press the direction buttons. It didn't happen often, but it's hard to do combos like that. The funny thing is that it's a problem with my controller all the time, but I don't tend to play action heavy games on PC that often.

Even though I reached the end of two stories (out of ten,) I'm more confused now than before I started. The story is either designed to be too complicated, or would have a plot twist that explains what-the-whatever just happened.

20200617120651_1.jpg

Still, the character interactions in the story mode are still fun even if I didn't understand the story, or when the reason of the fight seems dumb. The dialogue between fights is short but it's fully voice-acted which adds another layer of personality. I also appreciate how the game shows the thoughts of the character you play as in first-person monologue.

I heard there is a time-loop something in BlazBlue, and that probably explains some of what I saw, but even knowing this, the story isn't less confusing. I hope I understand the story by the end.

What do you think?

Arc System Works make pretty good fighting games and I'm glad. I hope I understand more about this franchise because I want to play the cross-over game BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle eventually. I'm not very good at playing fighting games, but I still enjoy playing them.


All images are taken from the game (Steam ver.) by me.


%5 of this article rewards is going to: @josecarrerag!

I'm rotating parts of my posts rewards to people who engage with my posts/comments! Want to earn %5 of my next post's rewards? Write an insightful comment on one of my articles and you might be chosen next!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now