Believer - Imagine Dragons cover || Vibes web3 music competition week 12 (Pain!)

vibes week 12.png

Hey guys! first of all, a cordial greeting to the organizers and all the people participating in Vibes web3 music contest on Hive, it´s been twelve weeks of amazing talents fulfilling this event with the magic only music can bring. To be honest it was a hard week for me, and many things didn't happen the way I had planned, or how I would have liked them to happen, I would have loved to publish my participation sooner, but i couldn´t for different reasons, for example, but here we are and i´m grateful to be able to share my entry for this week of Vibes with all of you.

Pain. when i came to notice this was the weekly theme, i said to myself that i could not let this week pass without participating, because i think this is a deep and meaningful topic, and it resonates with me. Pain makes us human, we are all destined to experience it through our lifetime, so it kind of connect us in some way, and therefore it is a natural source of inspiration for artists since the beginning of art itself. Speaking of pain, one of my best friends had an accident on his motorcycle just 2 days ago and he injured his head, thanks god he is alright now and his wound is healing, he is also a musician and a hiver, my friend @franciscodesousa who is also the one who borrows me his guitar sometimes, like in my past entries but after what just happened to him i thought it would be disrespectful to ask him for the guitar, like, the guy just had an accident let´s give the man a break y´know, so im recording this week with my old guitar that´s missing a string.

So as we all know there is physical pain and there´s also another kind of pain, a bit more complex, the emotional pain, this one is the one that has inspired most songs through the history of music, of course, many of my own songs are quite inspired by this emotion, but this song of Imagine Dragons seemed to fit just perfectly with the theme, i also considered to do a cover of Kurt Cobain´s version of "In The Pines" because i think that song really conveys that feeling of pain, and "You Know You´re Right" too, for obvious reasons (the song says "pain" like 100 times hehe) but maybe in another ocassion, this time i decided to perform "Believer", a very challenging song for many reasons, starting with the fast-tempo rap-like parts of the lyrics (im sure @verbal-d will appreciate that) i must say that as a spanish native speaker i´m proud of being able to sing an english song in this level of difficulty, the tempo and the silences present through all the song also add some difficulty, add to that the difficulty of singing those lyrics while playing the guitar, im sure the judges will consider all that. I also added some additional voices as choruses to back up the main voice, i´m not an expert doing this but i hope you enjoy the result.

I would like to clarify that my knowledge of music theory is very limited, and my knowledge of musical production/edition/masterization is almost null, i just put all together on the Videopad edition program and try to make it sound good. I know that im posting this on the edge of the time lapse but i hope my entry is valid, i really put a lot of effort and love on this one, so i really hope you like it, see you all next week!


link to my entry:

https://x.com/JulioPalomo_/status/1797884624590541086


Watch on Youtube


lyrics:

First things first
I'ma say all the words inside my head
I'm fired up and tired of
The way that things have been, oh-ooh
The way that things have been, oh-ooh

[Verse 2]
Second things second
Don't you tell me what you think that I could be
I'm the one at the sail
I'm the master of my sea, oh-ooh
The master of my sea, oh-ooh

[Pre-Chorus]
I was broken from a young age
Taking my sulkin' to the masses
Writing my poems for the few
That look at me, took to me, shook at me, feelin' me
Singing from heartache from the pain
Taking my message from the veins
Speaking my lesson from the brain
Seeing the beauty through the...

[Chorus]
Pain! You made me a, you made me a
Believer, believer
Pain! You break me down, you build me up
Believer, believer
Pain! Oh, let the bullets fly, oh, let them rain
My life, my love, my drive, it came from…
Pain! You made me a, you made me a
Believer, believer

[Verse 3]
Third things third
Send a prayer to the ones up above
All the hate that you've heard
Has turned your spirit to a dove, oh-ooh
Your spirit up above, oh-ooh

[Pre-Chorus]
I was chokin' in the crowd
Building my rain up in the cloud
Falling like ashes to the ground
Hoping my feelings, they would drown
But they never did, ever lived, ebbin' and flowin'
Inhibited, limited 'til it broke open and rained down
It rained down, like…

[Chorus]
Pain! You made me a, you made me a
Believer, believer
Pain! You break me down, you build me up
Believer, believer
Pain! Oh, let the bullets fly, oh, let them rain
My life, my love, my drive, it came from…
Pain! You made me a, you made me a
Believer, believer
[Verse 4]
Last things last
By the grace of the fire and the flames
You're the face of the future
The blood in my veins, oh-ooh
The blood in my veins, oh-ooh

[Pre-Chorus]
But they never did, ever lived, ebbin' and flowin'
Inhibited, limited 'til it broke open and rained down
It rained down, like…

[Chorus]
Pain! You made me a, you made me a
Believer, believer
Pain! You break me down, you build me up
Believer, believer
Pain! Oh, let the bullets fly, oh, let them rain
My life, my love, my drive, it came from…
Pain! You made me a, you made me a
Believer, believer

source of the lyrics

link to the original song:

A big salute to @lordbutterfly @silentscreamer @verbal-d

I hope you liked my post! thanks for visiting!

Espero que te haya gustado mi post, gracias por la visita!

separador hive 6.png

Palomo diseño original.png

Follow me! / sígueme! @juliopalomo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center