Summer Diaries - Continuing a Family Tradition

image.png

A Family Tradition

When I was a kid, I would count down the number of days until summer vacation. Like Christmas, I would eagerly await for summer vacation. To us kids, it means "no more teachers, no more books..." as the rhyme went on. The Holy Week is also on summer so there are some festivities on Easter Sunday. We would also visit the beach with our relatives during this time. We would have a convoy of three to four cars on a three our drive to Matabungkay Beach in Batangas south of Manila. We would bring our own food for a barbeque while swimming. It was an annual family tradition and was lots of fun except for that time when an uncle (dad's cousin from grandma's side) almost drowned when he had cramps while swimming.

Whiterock in Subic Bay, Zambales this year

image.png

This time I have a family of my own. We went to Whiterock Resort in Subic Bay, Zambales. It's a beach resort North of Metro Manila. We went there on 24th March before the Holy Week to avoid the crowd. True enough, there were not so many people yet in our three day stay. The beach was almost empty.

image.png

image.png

image.png

There were plenty of activities you can do here since there is also a pool with slides.

image.png

image.png

There is also a wave pool.

image.png

The floaters are for water activities. We tried it and it's not as easy as it looks.

image.png

You can try a boat ride. This is more relaxing than the other activities. It's so much fun I can't wipe the smile off my face 😅

image.png

There's also some "extreme" adventures like a banana boat ride where you will be towed by a motorized boat. The boat was so fast I almost fell several times. I swear I saw the driver sniggering 😤

image.png

It's cool at night and you can hang out in the restaurant where there is an acoustic band playing.

image.png

image.png

For some reason I wake up early. I went out to smell the fresh air and took some photos.

image.png

image.png

A Fun Vacation to Escape the Heat

It was a fun vacation and something that we will be doing every year. We checked out just as the crowd were starting to trickle in. Our Holy Week roadtrip was not yet over though. After going home, we took another trip in Metro Manila to visit the historic Intramuros. I wrote about it here:

@logen9f/stepping-back-in-time-visiting-intramuros-manila

#juneinleo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now