Taco Tuesday - Raincheck

Hey besties 😌.... Allow me wow you with some homemade street food.

So I made fish roll and eggroll a popular street snacks in my country Nigeria. Let me quickly add that I make the best fish roll there is, infact my signature remains unbeatable! Best in the game 😀... Ok ok I know I'm bragging too much lol I can't help it 😌🙃.

Again, I made fishroll and egg roll. So here's the gist, when I relocated back home and news got out, my mother's siblings started calling.

They were all so excited to have me back home because they know with me around home cooked meals and snacks will flow like milk and honey flowed in the land of Canaan.


I one time posted here how my parents siblings, especially my mother's would always complain that I get too busy for family time.

I don't call and I don't visit. My mom's immediate younger sister called me one time and was not happy. She kept stressing on the importance of family and I knew truly I haven't done well.

So when I got back and settled in, I told my mom to call her siblings and inform them that I will be hosting them in my aunty's house with some fish roll. I chose my aunty's house because it easily accessible to everyone.

I never planned on adding eggroll though, because they all love fishroll but after making my estimate, I noticed if I want the snacks to go round and not over spend, I better compliment the fish roll with eggroll.

Plus my mother threw in a little extra mouth of her friend who had an accident that almost got her amputated.

I had been planning on the whole event for a while but the timing was not right and I had no spare money.

Then a Sunday came and we had no service or any activity at our place of worship so I decided to seize the moment. Coupled with I had already sort out my expenses for the month and I got paid at my second job, a money I wasn't expecting.

The moment the money touched my hand, I told my mom to call her siblings that we are coming 😁😆.


On Saturday, I went to the market to shop for the items.


I got the items below

Filling

Fish
Pepper
Onion
Cabbage
Carrot
Seasoning
Curry
Thyme
Onion
Garlic
Ginger
Groundnut oil for stir frying

Procedure

  1. Debone and mince your fish, slice your vegetables and dice your pepper.

  2. Put a clean pan or pot in the fire, add a little oil. When hot add the diced onion, garlic and ginger mince, stir fry a little then add the pepper and minced fish. The vegetables come last.

  3. Fry till there is no liquid left. Avoid burning so keep stirring.


Crust

Flour
Butter
Sugar
Milk
Baking powder
Groundnut oil for deep frying.

Procedure

  1. In a clean bowl, add the flour, butter, sugar, milk and baking powder.

  2. Add the water gradually till it forms a dough. Knead till elastic.


Last Stage

Procedure

From the pictorial explanation.

Cut out the dough to smaller portions, knead, add your fillings, roll and fry. Same apply to the egg roll.

We don't need a tutorial on how to boil egg yes?


I got done frying first batch and then I portioned 🙂. Would have been a great family get together but rain ruined it 😭. So my mom just did the deliveries to my aunt's.

Hopefully we get to plan better next time and go with food. I'll sure to post 🙂

ALL IMAGES ARE MINE

PS
The snacks pair nicely with Fanta, like the photo below 😉

Bye besties 😌

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center