Overwintering...The luxury of HEAT

During my early twenties we were always laughing about those 'old' people going to Spain for the winter season. Why does my grandma wanted to stay in ugly Benidorm in quiet winter, while you can party hard at the Costa Brava in summer? Some years past, I got a bit older and now I realize that this overwintering is a serious thing. What if you are an outdoorsy nomad, traveling in a van through Europe?

One of my beach walks during autumn in Galicia

Dutchies like to be hot
In The Netherlands we like it hot. Well, at least me. Some prefer to jump in freezing lakes or ice baths these days. Summer vibes, I love it. Sun in your face, nice parties, a lot of smiles, summer dresses and not to forget the good outdoor life. Water activities, hiking, camping, trailrunning, roadtrips. Around October the shit hits the fan and in my case mostly the shit hits the van. Darker days, wind, rain, grumpy faces, boring days at the office, long traffic jams. During the periods between September and April, I normally leave the country. Traveling abroad, celebrating my birthdays in the tropics, do some roadtrips to the South of Europe. Just to keep a bit of that summer vibe. I mean going to the sauna and sit in a hottub can be a good alternative, but the current wellness center entrance fees and lower temperatures there, don't give me a boost. To save gas, temperatures are set lower at these wellness places. Even doing the dishes feels warmer than enjoying some bubbles in the jacuzzi.

Unexpected sunsets are good for a bit of summer vibes at the end of the day

Due to circumstances, I temporary ended up in The Netherlands and Germany this winter with my campervan. How does it feel and is it fun? My campervan is not a luxury one. It's very basic: large bed, little 2 pit stove, 10L of cold water and somewhere hidden a Porto Potti toilet and a little fridge. The fridge can be turned off most of the time right now. Today, I am listening to loud rain on the roof again. The stuff that doesn't want to dry, smelly clothes...the last few weeks I realized that my grandma was not that crazy when she was leaving to sunny Spain every year.

Just a few random spots as a nomad

The good things about being here
I don't want to complain that much. The good things about camping for free in the Netherlands and Germany? There is way more space, most campers and vans are currently in Portugal, Spain, Morocco and Italy. The police isn't that active with sending you away at the moment. Communicating in my own language and meeting all my friends and family, is what I truly appreciate. My favorite Dutch snacks and German Christmas Markets...hmm. And one of my not entirely voluntary hobbies: visiting garages. I am an easy driver, I am only allowed to drive an automatic van. Yes, in the Netherlands these special licenses exist. In my favorite South European countries they don't have a lot of experience with automatic cars and also Mercedes-Benz is not one of their favorites. It means, hopping from garage to garage, without getting thing really fixed. Here I can try to see if my Sprinter can have the list of issues fixed. This morning I took Vin Diesel to a German Mercedes-Benz doctor, to see if he can handle more adVINtures. If not, I have to make a decision. It's not only the van...I will also do a personal check-up while I am waiting here. We are both patients, waiting with patience.

Vanlife views in the Netherlands

Winter Nomad
Staying fulltime in the van and free camping, is challenging. It can be freezing cold. Heat feels like a luxury now. This summer I couldn't handle it...at least 40 degrees inside my green sauna. To heat up the van, I have to drive a little. Or cook something to get some warmer temperatures. The blankets are thick enough. I am pretty active outside, this means a lot of wet dirty clothes and shoes. They won't dry. The power charged by the solar panel is very limited. The good thing, I have an ECOFLOW portable battery these days, to charge it at a local cafe from time to time. Talking about the right level of energy...my own body. It can hardly relax. Constant loud noises, restless night's sleep and not able to recharge myself. From time to time I spend some days at my GF home in Germany or at couches at friends or family. Long hot showers or a hot bath with mulled wine. There are ways to get through this different vanlife winter. Last week there was some good snow. I was positively surprised by the temperature inside the van; the snow insulated quite well. Best insulation I've had so far :)


Snow as van insulation, it really keeps it warm inside

What's Next?
Any roadtrip adventures coming up? I would love to be back on the road and explore. Both patients (Vin Diesel and me) need to be patient. Let's see if we have real issues or not. Let's see if we can do some outdoor off-road stuff or do we end up at a car cemetery / between the rollators in Benidorm. If possible, a roadtrip to Scotland, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Balkan, Turkey, Morocco or even Nepal? Or a bit more North next summer and explore Scandinavia. Dozens of ideas, no urgent need to plan. Good to warm up with some mulled wine and go through the ideas, the HEAT is on!

Camping in the vineyards in France, thanks to France Passion

If you have any nice spots to recommend, reachable with a 3 m high Mercedes Sprinter (Not a 4x4), I will put them on the list and I might post those adVINtures here soon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now