Altoids Tin Emergency Kit Upgrade: First Aid and More

Additions.jpg

Yup, I am still working on the micro-sized emergency kit. See the first and second installments for context. I have ditched the cordage I had so I could cram more useful stuff into the tiny box. Of course, it is quite rudimentary, but a cleansing wipe and a couple Band-Aids are a heck of a lot better than nothing for first aid. I also found some folding scissors and a P38 can opener to toss in.

Below, you can see my credit card sized Fresnel lens, the rudimentary first aid supplies, and my thread-wrapped needles in the lid. There is also the the light candle, a stubby Bic lighter, and the extra-slim pocket knife plus some 25 lb. fishing line I had on a massive spool I found, and safety pins in the base. There is room for the scissors and P38 above the fishing line, but I left them out for clarity.

Kit.jpg

I do plan to upgrade the fishing supplies with more than just a couple hooks. I am rebuilding my tackle collection, and I think I'll prep some leaders and add some stronger but thinner woven line. I am also thinking about some small artificial lures and treble hooks, but remember, space is limited. I will need to see what fits, and evaluate the risk of extra poky bits damaging any of the other contents. I'll also consider slapping a small strip of basic duct tape on the back, and maybe add some strips of narrower Gorilla Tape to the top or sides.

I would also like a backup fire starting system, so I may see if I can get my hands on a promotional matchbook next time I see a pipe and cigar shop, since the lens mentioned above is not ideal for that purpose.

What else would you add? Have you started making your own kits? What special considerations influence your choices in emergency kit contents? Chime in by commenting below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center