Altoids Tin Emergency Kit Upgrade: Needle and Thread

I am still refining the Altoids tin emergency kit, and thought an update might interest you. There is now a fresnel lens card, and I added an alcohol prep pad and a couple basic Band-aids. It's no IFAK, but it's better than nothing, and that is the point of this size of a kit anyway.

20210519_202647.jpg

20210519_205046.jpg

I took advantage of an opportunity to stop by a sewing supplies shop the other day. As suggested by @ganjafarmer in the comments last time, I have wrapped a couple needles from the pack in thread.

I used olive drab polyester because it was on hand to maintain some military surplus web gear. You can, of course, choose whatever color works for you.

I also tossed in a couple safety pins. Why not?

I still need to decide how to include a compact fishing kit. All I seem to have on hand are treble hooks. Efficient, but not very compact. I may see what the local stores are clearing out from last season. Next time I head toward Coeur d'Alene, I should stop at that mecca of sporting goods: Black Sheep.

Still to do: tape, cordage, fishing line. Maybe a razor blade. What else do you suggest?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center