Rainy Hike in Madeira Forest

On this day we had another, not so long hike planned but the weather happened to turn to the worse. We decided to skip the hike because we see no views up there. Time was still too early to turn back home and waste this day away. I researched the nearby area where we were and found this quite random trail.

I don't know what the name of the trail was or where it is located exactly, I have forgotten that information. All I know is that it is located somewhere in the central part of the island of Madeira. It was a forest trail so it was a good fit for this weather if I can't see mountain views anyway. I believe it was about 3.5 to 4 kilometers long.
Here are some photos of this trail.

DSC_0137.jpg

Okay, we saw some views on our way.

DSC_0136.jpg

We saw no other people on this trail. I believe this is the first time we felt alone on the hike on Madeira. All the other trails had loads of people on them we had done.

In the forest, we found some random structures. A stone wall... I wonder why is this there. It probably is very old but why ?? This is the question I don't get an answer for.

DSC_0138.jpg

The path crossed over the road.
DSC_0141.jpg

I think this is the largest fern I had ever seen. We have ferns here in Estonia but this was almost as tall as me and very wide too.

DSC_0142.jpg


DSC_0143.jpg

This is the path we walked. Rocky and full of tree roots. At times it was extremely slippery due to the path being wet.
DSC_0144.jpg

This is what appears to be a river bed that is fully dried up. I wonder if it only flows when it's the rainy season.
DSC_0146.jpg

A bridge, no water flowing under it.
DSC_0147.jpg


DSC_0148.jpg


DSC_0149.jpg

Overall it was quite a cool short hike and I didn't think I would enjoy it much due to the weather and not many views but I did. It's still cool to see the foreign forest and the structures built in the forest gave this mysterious vibe a bit. Clothes got trenched tho 😀.



Don't forget to participate in my monthly weather guessing game here and you might win 10 HIVE. The game is open until the 17th of April.


Untitled-1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center