Blod Ravnene (Bass NAF Drone Flute)

This flute came all the way from Russia! It was made by Anna Pan, who plays these dual chamber drones as skillfully as she makes them.


Pictures sent by Anna


Anna sent a few photos once the flute was completed, and even was cool enough to send a picture of herself delivering the flute to DHL.
img_4875.jpg
(Photo by Anna Pan)

img_4871.png
(Photo by Anna Pan)

img_4873.png
(Photo by Anna Pan)

img_4872.png
(Photo by Anna Pan)

img_4874.png
(Photo by Anna Pan)


Pictures Taken by Me


I added this leather muzzle piece, hoping to improve on the contact pressure of the fetishes. Later, Anna listened to a video of me playing and was able to identify that the fetishes still weren’t secured properly, and further, the leather addition I had made may have been interfering with airflow. Needless to say, I scrapped that, and she helped me get the fetish blocks set correctly.
img_4926.jpg

I added blood sigils for a peaceful heart and steady breath, that the hopes and dreams tied to my melodies might rise high, to soar above the clouds and through the ether. And yes, if you’re wondering, the engraved sigils are sustained with my own blood. I don’t do Sigil magick (or any other kind) these days, but these things are a fascinating part of human history, and I enjoyed the time I spent immersing myself in such things.
img_4924.jpg

I decorated the two fetishized block Ravens according to Carlos Castaneda’s depiction of don Juan’s divining lizards. These days, I can only vaguely recall, the the lizards, most likely allegorical - one was to be blinded, the other had its mouth sewn shut. There was a whole reasoning behind it that was fascinating to read, albeit hard to take as fact.

img_4931.jpg
IMG SRC

Heka’s mouth is bound shut, she faces away. This keeps her from getting distracted by food, and ensures she will soar to find the inspiration requested.
Terpischore is blindfolded, and faces back. Heka and Terpischore are sisters, and can speak to one another without sound. Heka passes what she finds in her travels on to Terpsichore, who whispers melodies into the sorcerer’s ear and guides his hands to play them.

Blod Ravnene (The Blood Ravens)

TerpischoreHeka
img_4927.jpgimg_4928.jpg
img_4930.jpg

In decorating the fetish blocks, I wanted something that would be natural, non-damaging, and secure. In the end, I cut thin leather strips and soaked them in hot water until saturated before I wrapped or lashed them accordingly. Once I was satisfied with my knots and wraps, I put the fetish blocks in my smoker and smoked them at a low temperature for 3 hours. The leather was pulled taut when it was saturated, and as the smoker dehydrated the strips, they contracted and hardened; the pores of the leather sealed with woodsmoke resin, the whole thing is very secure, and smells very nice.

The fancy leatherwork is gone now, it’s just the fetish blocks tied on with a string, and a small feather tucked in the side.
img_4925.jpg

This flute always takes some getting used to after a long time away, but it’s always rewarding to get reacquainted!
img_4867.png


Thanks for checking out some more of my work! As always, I hope you enjoyed witnessing as much as I enjoyed creating!

© Photos and words by @albuslucimus, except where otherwise indicated.


img_4821.png


If you enjoy my content, check out the Albus Index!

Here you’ll find links to various post-groupings, so you can find all posts related to a specific topic quickly. Topics include lists of brewing recipes, different flutes, rucking posts and an index of all acoustic covers. The lists are updated as new content is added, so they can always be used to quickly navigate my content.


img_2455.jpg

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -


Use my Coinbase referral link to get started with Coinbase! I’ll get $10 in Bitcoin but, more importantly, you will get $10 in Bitcoin too!

Here is a post I did recently about using Coinbase with HiveWallet to get Hive in the US. If you’re wanting to buy Hive and are having difficulties, this may be helpful for you!

img_1752.jpg


shortcut

thumbnaillink
img_4687.pngMe
img_4689.pngMy Flutes

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency