My First Silver Purchases - Australia's Perth Mint - Myths & Legends Dragon Round 2021

IMG_20240817_205940.jpg

Looking back at my first silver purchases

I shared some stuff about my first silver purchase in a blog earlier this week, you can read it here and I'm now taking the opportunity to create a document with a closer look at when I bought something, for what price and how much the value (hopefully) went up since.

Ideally, I should have done this at the time of purchase but back then I was 100% focused on budgeting ourselves back to Spain, paying off all debt we had before the savings of this emigration could be accumulated and I didn't need an extra spreadsheet to keep track of this. On top of that, I just had 2 coins to show and didn't see the need to do so yet. Now the time has come to gather the data.

Australian Myths & Legends dragon

Back in 2022 January, I purchased the Hungarian coin shared in the post a few days ago, but it was in May when this coin arrived to me, just weeks before our emigration to Spain. I remember being relieved that it didn't arrive late and was in time to travel back to Spain with us.

The 2021 Australian myths and legends silver coin with a dragon caught my eye quite fast and I started hunting for the best deal, I believe that I paid 35 euros plus shipment for it.

IMG_20240817_205940.jpg

Isn't it pretty? I really love it. Sadly the original capsule broke when it fell and then I only had a bigger capsule as you can see. It already has a bit of discolouration but I still love it. It was the second coin but actually the first one that I REALLY loved. Maybe because this one is indeed 0.999 silver and not sterling like my first. I felt in awe opening this package at the time and really proud to own this one.

image.png
Source

I decided it was finally time to take a picture of all my silver together and this is the result:

A bunch of silver.jpg
Still quite small but getting somewhere already..

Value today

First, I checked if I added the coin to my numista account, which was the case. I checked the value shown there:

image.png
Source

Not bad, 47 euros!! But I was also curious to see other asking prices to compare. I did a google search to check for more data and found these to compare:

image.png
Source

Out of stock but the last price was €45,90 including tax.

There's one in stock here for $56.99:

image.png
Source

Awaiting stock but the last price close to 58 euros:

image.png
Source

And upon my search I found many more with prices around 50 euros or even up. No clue if they sell easy of course, so in the end time will tell if I were to sell this one ever if I'd get a good price for it. Personally, I can't see myself parting with it as I love it too much...

Conclusion

I didn't realise that taking a picture of all silver owned would make me feel so good lol, we both enjoyed checking each of the coins separately and I'm excited to add more silver really soon. This year will definitely be the year that our collection grows nicely because buys will be done monthly. I can't wait to see the collection in a few years from now..

Have a good Sunday ahead..

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center