A Precious Silver Gift: Swiss Francs

Swiss francs a very nice gift.png

Silver gift

Who doesn't love a silver gift? I know I do! These three pretty coins have been laying in my silver stash for a few months now, waiting for me to write about them after I received them as a gift with one of my silver purchases. Today is the day that I will document them in my collection. Many thanks to the person sending me this gift!

Swiss Francs

I've never been to Switzerland myself and my original thought when I saw "Fr." on the coins was that these were Frenche Francs but a quick search on Numista made me realise these were Swiss Francs instead. I have to saw that I really love the details on these coins. When I found them in Numista, I added them to my account because often I have a hard time finding things back online, so this is easier to navigate.

Some personal silver stats

It was funny to see that after adding these 3 Swiss Franc coins, two of them popped up in my dashboard:

image.png

So the 1/2 Franc is the smallest and lightest coin in my small silver collection while the 1 Franc is the oldest I own, coming from 1952. I never really checked these stats before but I think it's fun to see. Let's see when I can add an older, smaller or lighter coin to my collection!

Currently the largest coin I have is the Chinese Myths and Legends - Silver - Dragon 1 Dollar Elisabeth coin:

image.png
Source

And the heaviest is also my very first silver purchase ever:

image.png
Source

I remember at the time I had no clue that most coins didn't have a high face value such as this one, currently the value of 10000 HUF is around 27/28 dollar but at the time that I bought it, this was more in the 33/34 dollar. So for a first purchase I think I did well back then.

Last thing I will share from the stats in Numista is the newest coin in my collection, the 5 Euros Golden Eagle from Malta (2023):

image.png

Swiss Francs

Now let's get back to the Swiss Francs and check these stats.. I found this little package as an extra in my order:

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (2).jpg

Curious what the package contained, I opened it to find this:

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (3).jpg

Wow, I really love them, I left them in the package because I don't want to ruin them but it was tempting to open it. Instead, I just took a few pictures without opening them, not as sharp as I usually have them but enough to check them out properly..

  • 1965 1/2 Francs Swiss

First we have the 1/2 Francs, the smallest one of the three as well as the smallest in my collection, apparenty:

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (1).jpg
Obverse: Standing Helviata and 22 stars

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (6).jpg
Reverse: A wreath, my favourite side

image.png
Numista stats

I also learned (or was reminded actually) that the value of Swiss Francs is mentioned as CHF. I forgot about that. The coin contains 0.835 silver. Nice!

  • 1952 1 Francs Swiss

Next up is the 1952 1 Franc coin:

This one is from 1952 and as I mentioned above, the oldest one in my collection. How cool! The wreath looks neat doesn't it?

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (5).jpg

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (8).jpg

The pictures aren't crystal clear due to the package but I'm going to leave it for now. At least they're protected now.

image.png
Numista stats

I didn't think the weight of the 1 Franc coin would be double from the 1/2 Franc, but there you have it, it's 2.5 gram vs 5 gram.

  • 1965 2 Francs Swiss

Last up is the 2 Franc from 1965:

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (4).jpg

Swiss Francs - Set of 3 (7).jpg

Looking at the Numista stats below:

image.png

You can see that this one doubles in weight as well compared to the 1 Franc coin. I wonder if this is common practice with coins but that's for another day. That's all for today, even though the coins are almost similar (different years though) I really love having a set of 3!

Many thanks again to the person gifting me these three coins!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center