How I Found Hive: The Killerwot Chronical

@ecency-star released a competition post today, How I Came To Ecency/ Hive. Below are the rules of this competition, and the deadline, which is next Friday, 17 of March, which is also Paddies Day actually.

REWARD
The best 3 entries will get 100 Ecency points!

RULES

  • Create the post in the Ecency Support Community
  • The post should be at least 100 words length
  • Share the link to that post in your entry
  • Use the hashtags #ecencycontest, #ecency
  • Comment on this post with the link to your entry
  • Only 1 entry per person
  • No plagiarism!

❗❗❗ DEADLINE: March 17 ❗❗❗


How did I come to Ecency/ Hive? I'm pretty sure I have already spoken about this in my introduction post to Hive when I first joined. But, let's face it, nobody is digging out that dusty old thing; least of all me. I don't like the idea of having to relive the mindless ramblings of a baby killerwot - well in fairness, in the last year, not a whole lot has changed. I still mindlessly ramble, but I think I do so now with a little bit more finesse.

Before moving on - I noticed at the end of typing this killerwot came up with a red line under it, so I checked the spelling and it came up with killer wit as the correction. Yes, thank you Grammarly, I'll take that compliment.



Source


Anyway, where was I? Ahh yes, how I first found Hive, and by extension Ecency.

It was a dark and stormy night, I recall it being cold, as winters in Ireland usually are. But, I was warming myself by the glow of my Tv; YouTube was on, and I was being spoken to by some nameless gentlemen who found his way onto my suggested video feed; which was most likely the first and last time I'd seen one of his videos.

He was talking about writing and blogging in general. "Top 10 sites to go on and earn some money writing."

It seemed like my kind of video, so I was checking it out and he mentioned one called Steemit. Earn crypto writing online. Too good to be true I thought, at this time I was building up a little collection of coins and wanted to earn more.

So, I grabbed the laptop and headed over to sign up. Seemed okay, I found it a bit clunky but other than that it was grand. I was seeing some posts earning decent money, so I got typing. I wrote a gaming post and earned maybe 0.001 cents. Then the next day I wrote another and earned about the same and received no comments or even a reply to any comments I made for that matter.

I was a bit disappointed but didn't want to give up that easily. I took to Reddit to see if anyone had any hints and tips, maybe some pointers about content to write or whatever. They had tips alright, but not in the way I thought.

I read a comment saying Steemit is dead, everyone is at Hive now. Or something like that. So, I typed Hive into google and found something called Hive Home, which is a way to connect your home's heating and lights to one network or something like that. Well, I was all out of ideas at that point.

But, I dug a bit more, found the Hive.io homepage, and was shocked by the amount of stuff there was on it, everything from Games to Front-Ends, all sorts. Hopping onto it, I decided to make an account and here I am, over a year later, and loving it. I think it was instantly amazing too, that my first post received a few comments, and there was someone there being helpful by telling me about introduction posts, and giving me links to Discord servers to join.

The Terminal was the first one and over the span of a few weeks they answered every question I asked, and for that, I'm forever grateful.

Why did I use Ecency as my main front end? Because of the mobile app. I don't know why, but as soon as I saw there was a mobile app to use I was like, yes, this is legit. I knew it would be handy to read on the go and reply quickly, and the notifications would ensure I wouldn't forget about it.

Yeah, I've loved Hive as a whole since the moment I got on here, and I started sharing fiction here about a month or two into having my account and have grown a hell of a lot as a writer since doing so. I've said it before, but for me, writing before Hive was always a very lonely and isolated experience. Usually, the only people who would read my work were actors who were playing some roles in short films, or close friends and family who took pity on me and decided to read the latest screenplay I wrote - well either it was pity or they just wanted to shut me up lol.

I'm glad I found it, and haven't looked back since. Back to what? Well, just in general. Back at the quiet time, I guess. I've made a lot of friends here, and haven't had any problems with anyone at all, so that's great. I've read some amazing stuff here, which wouldn't be valued on something like Reddit, FB, or wherever.

Here it's valued, even if someone has a tiny vote, but gives you some words of encouragement on something you did; it's cool. It has a sort of gratification that I don't think I've ever found anywhere else online.

Anyway, yeah, that's my story and I'm sticking to it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency