A Meal That Reminds Me of Home

There are a couple of meals that remind me of home, or at the very least a particular time or day. One of those meals is a roast dinner.

We don't have one every week, because there's so much that goes into making one - and at that - eating one. They're monstrous meals that are about 40% potatoes and 60% everything else squashed onto the plate trying to remain within the limits of the dish, usually forming a slight mountain. Mash peaks, gravy lakes, and broccoli forests build up the plate to reveal a meal that is more like a fantasy map than food.

Yesterday we were having one, and it was well needed. With everything going on over the last couple of months I've been sort of forgetting to eat throughout the day, so the roast really filled a hole.

Here's A Link To The Ecency Star Prompt Post If You'd Like To Discuss A Meal.



Source


What Does It Consist of?

I'm a vegetarian, so instead of turkey, we have a Quorn turkey log, which by most accounts is actually nicer than turkey because it's not as dry as the real thing. Obviously, I can't say whether it is or not, but over the years a lot of my mates have been over to mine for dinner and have commented on the Quorn stuff, either saying "It's noticeably not real meat, but still okay." Or, "You know, it's not bad, I might actually pick some up and try it out myself." They may just be polite, but yeah. I'm not really one to mention being a vegetarian or whatever, and I don't really care what anyone else eats.

Apart from the meat substitute, almost everything else is normal. Roasted parsnips and carrots, mashed potatoes, roast potatoes, stuffing, broccoli, cauliflower, mushy peas, Yorkshire puds, and to top it all off, plenty of gravy.

Every time we make this, it reminds me of Christmas dinner, and what could make you feel more at home than that? Speaking of it, not far off now, and I'm really looking forward to the baby's first Christmas. Me and my partner have spoken about whose house to go to for Crimbo and figured that the fairest way to do it was to spend Christmas Eve in one, then Christmas morning, then head to the other town for Christmas afternoon/ evening and spend St. Stephens Day there. Totally split the three days between the two houses so everyone can see us and the baby is the best thing to do.


Even thinking about the meal now I'm starting to feel a bit hungry, but sadly, there'll be no roast for me today. I just got off a 4 hours bus journey to come back and play a gig this evening.

Last night was my mate's 30th and needless to say, I'm fairly hungover, so tonight is going to be a really chill one, play the gig, maybe have one pint to take the edge off, and then get back to the house because there's no chance I'm going for a round two. My body has taken enough abuse for one week.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center