Splinterlands Strategies: Land: Strapped for DEC?


image.png

This is not going to be relevant for many a landowner, but if you are like me and thinking you need 50,000 DEC to start your next 'Under Construction' then think a little.

You have many a land doing nothing and your best cards older cards are already staked. DEC is in short supply so what now?


image.png
...'how wasteful, but what can we do about it?'...

This was me until this morning. 40+ Lands doing fuck all and me refusing to sell my hard-earned SPS like many.

I’m thankful many players are buckling and burning their SPS for DEC as it’s nicely churning up the value, so please.., keep burning for my selfish sake!

image.png

Now, if you played Splinterlands in the Beta days, it was common for us ‘monster hoarders’ to keep your surplus cards at 1 BCX. One of the reasons was, it was easier to offload them than when combined.

The Reward cards from that era were held, at least by me in a similar fashion and the number of 'Screeching Vulture's' I offloaded at 1 BCX is not even funny. These cards are 'Earth', which is what I need the most for Jungles and Lakes, as well as gaining the 5x multiplier.

Regrets are not why I am writing today. I for one had a habit of hoarding my Beta's, sold few of them, and kept many at 1 BCX. Now there is little point in doing so as a landowner, even if you get an 'Enchanted Pixie' that may be mid-level between five and six.

Pixie 0.4.PNG

Who gives a toss? A L3 Enchanted Pixie will yield you 0.4 DEC a day. Big fucking deal, and if it doesn't breach my personal minimum requirement of 5 DEC a day then it's going on land.

4 pixes.PNG

Combine all these Pixies and you get 860PP. It's not earth-shattering and being neutral it will not give even a 10% bonus but what was it doing before? Nothing.

This Enchanted Pixie is now L4 +7, but again it's unimportant. Land workers are judged on their PP level which is per BCX not by full levels. Gone are the days when this chick was going to be fighting in battles, she's now a land digger and needs to get stuck in with a large shovel.

FleshGolems.PNG

Other cards such as L3 Flesh Golems, I am reluctant to level. At 49 PP per L3, it hardly seems worth sacrificing such an efficient Bronze Wild tank. Where else can you find a self-healing monster that can hold his own at the front?

These used to rent at 84 DEC a day. Can you believe that?

Now the demand is 0.816. Pitiful and I refuse to rent them at such a low value. These guys will stay in my monster stash and I would encourage anyone else who has a horde of these to abstain from renting.

If they all vanish from the rental marketplace, then suffer or use the less effective Pelacor Mercenary which is almost FREE to rent given its abundance.

Sabre.PNG

After combing a bunch of 'Sabre Shark' I found myself deliberating. Some Beta Commons are more desirable than others. 14 DEC a day or 643PP when staked on a land?

In this case, I think I would prefer the 14 DEC. All cards must be taken on merit and I would keep an eye on the rental marketplace. We all want and need passive DEC, as it is an expensive commodity.

Sabre Shark, you are going out there to battle again lad. No digging holes for you today, even though those powerful jaws could have been mighty useful.

Raging.PNG

Raging Impaler; an old Epic card was considered shit in the Beta days. Did you even see one played? The rental price for this is less than 1 a DEC.

It’s out in the fields for you big lad.

Choosing Monsters.PNG

When it comes to choosing monsters, ignore those new ones at the top of your list. Most of mine are MAX level and will require 10,000 DEC per monster. This isn’t going to work well as I have only 13,000 DEC available.

For a meagre 7,500 Energy I have another Grain Farm on its way to being constructed. It's not the most efficient and I would say, don't use any -50% modifier cards, but Neutral cards are better than nothing.

12 days.PNG

In 12 days or so I will have another farm. Beta cards are valuable, even commons and the marketplace is going to be raped soon.

Betas.PNG

It's not just a question of the 5x modifier, but more importantly the energy requirements to stake which are significantly less for non-maximised monsters.

I’m now off the start more Lands with the rest of my Beta’s. Within 2 weeks they will all become Grain producers.

RedLine.png

  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star
  • Own assets, and earn currency while playing one of the oldest, most established Crypto Games, Splinterlands


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now