Splinterlands Strategies: Hoard Your Food!


image.png

I remember writing a Splinterlands article about ‘Grain’ long ago. It was from September 2023 over a year ago, and I am glad I took my own advice and never sold even one ration of Grain.

proposal.PNG

Since @cryptomancer took the Land development over the controversial proposal, which is not so contentious anymore, at 93% in favour, I have noticed something:


…'land types that generate food are going up in price'…

It's been well known for a while that once Land 1.75 is released which could well be in January 2025, Grain is going to become a lot more scarce. 75% of your daily yield will magically become Wood, Stone or Ore overnight.

LandTypes.PNG

While Land 1.75 is not especially exciting, it lays down another layer of the foundation of things to come (assuming Splinterlands does not go belly up).

I am quite fortunate that my main region of Celestine is filled with Lakes. My workers could well be sick of devouring fresh Salmon every day but you have to feel pity for those gnawing on the bark of frozen Tundra wood.


image.png
...'I cursed once about the number of Lakes I had, now I feel fortunate to have these and many more'...

Land appears to have hit the bottom and I have yet to see a Plot go for less than $10, unless you count $9.99.

There are still plenty going for just over $10 in those new-fangled areas within the Shimmering Plains.

Who would want Land there, some might say? ‘Proper Land’ is in the Pristine NorthWest or the Broken Lands. Land Snobbery may well become a 'thing' one day. Don't say I didn't warn you.

CheapestCommonLand.PNG

At just over $10 you can buy Desert and Canyons in ‘Central Fire’. Not a bad territory and those lands will eventually yield Stone.

12.5 Tax.PNG

Well yum, yum, if you buy a bunch of these… your monsters will soon have no teeth left unless you intend on shipping in Grain using that hefty 12.5% export tariff.

Now, take a look at what's for sale today, and I mean the 'Food Generating' types of land, which are Plains, Lake, River and Bog. The last one never seems quite right in my head, Swamp Juice or Rotting Ferns; take your pick?

CheapestCommonFoodLand.PNG

If we apply filtering to the Food Producing lands, then it’s a different story with prices starting at $18.70 and most being around the $20 mark.

Only yesterday I had my eye on a Bog being sold by @joshman in Briarwood, a region where I have several other lands. It would have served me well as a support plot for the other ones but as of this morning that $17 plot had vanished from the marketplace. Grrrr.....

@joshman may well be thinking about why all his 'Food Producing' lands are being sold and yet the Jungles and Swamps he has are still available, well I am letting you know my theory.


image.png
...'two lovely Rivers, all glittering, fully loaded with boosts and pre-cleared. It makes a difference!'...

Thank you mate for selling me your two Rare Rivers at $29, that was me!

@joshman seems to have lost faith in Land over the proposal and he may well be correct in getting out. Who the fuck knows what is going to happen.


’the cheapest plots out there, are NOT Food Producers, but ALL your monsters need to eat regardless of what type of resources they are digging up’…

What I would say to anyone thinking of picking up these lands is to be aware of what you are buying. Come January 2025, it's going to get a lot tougher to feed your workers if you don't have lands that produce a food type (for now it's all Grain).

Try and buy Grain lands in the same region as the majority of your other lands, or else the taxman is going to weigh heavily on your resources, and even worse you may have to 'buy' Grain. Who would have thought this possible?

Khaz.PNG

Follow @khazrakh's example. He has seen this coming and is going all in Grain before the auto-switch takes place, regardless of land type.

Don't trade your Grain for DEC, for now, it's not worth it and once Land 1.75 is released there is going to be a shift in mentality; 75% less Grain than before, that's a massive difference.

wood.png

Winter is coming, stock up your food while you can, Wood is coming, and NO... not Morning Wood.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.


My Urban Exploration Tales can be found directly on the internet via my
Website: 'Tales of the Urban Explorer'.

RedLine.png

TalesLogo.JPG

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center