Battle Weekly Challenge: "OCTOPIDER" as Tanker

Peace Dear friends,

I am thankful for the battle challenge team that gives us an opportunity to present our strategies around key cards in the arena. Our challenge will describe Octopider's major role in the victory of battle in the Gold league. This battle is one of my least favorite due to the ruleset that limits most of my monster's abilities on the battleground. Although it was difficult to select this game for the challenge the unlimited mana made me change my mind.

octopiderbattlechallenge.jpg

src1

My ranking battle opposed one dragon summoner Daria Dragonscale to life summoner Tyrius Paladium. In this post, I propose to share my short adventure face this powerful life summoner under the battle rule set adding mixed feeling as the count down pressured me to proceed with monster selection. Daria offered us the possibility to combine the positive melee point with the death element strong monsters in my pack. In this match, the rulesets were simple and frightening. Monsters on both teams lose all their abilities then the total count for mana was at the highest 99. Octopider was selected to play a significant role even though I had no knowledge of my opponent's choices.

octopider1.jpg

Great description from Splinterlands Lore Wiki Octopider

You may be thinking, “A spider already has eight legs… Why Octopider?” For one thing, the Octopider is much larger than a spider, closer to the size of an octopus. It’s legs, although they can scurry like a spider, are actually the tentacles of an octopus. In fact, this monstrosity has nearly all the most terrifying features of both spiders and octopi. The Octopider can move easily in water or on land. Whenever threatened, the Octopider disappears into an inky, venomous cloud. They say the Octopider was a grotesque creation of the Gorlodon, a famed monstrous dark sorcerer of the deep water.

Octopider level five was put in second place in the order of selection for battle. In the battle, the range attack of four points, speed characteristic, limited defense Octopider has also eight strong hearts for life. Even though the ruleset "Back to basic" deactivated all abilities of my team monster, Octopider still gave a great advantage in this match.

Octopider is a death element monster. It is registered in the rewards series of Splinterlands pack among my preferred selection on the board as the mana cap for the game reach 99.

|image.png|image.png|

src2

This battle ruleset didn't offer any party in the arena to exploit the amazing ability of their cards. Therefore the range attack associated with the life bank made Octopider is this situation a perfect asset in my strategy to win the match.

image.png

I have displayed below the details about my battle challenge which is my entry for this week's challenge.

|image.png|image.png

The lineup of the cards in this battle

First, let’s present all party's lineup. My opponent lineup was not very good but it kept me worried within two rounds.

Summoner: Tyrus Paladium, Life Splinter, All my opponent monsters had one armor added as protection against mele and range attack from my team monster.

Base to the basic rule set nullified all the monster abilities

Behind my opponent line were monster from the life element positioned in the following order

1. Lord Arianthus level 2, a regular card with 8 life points.

2. Almo Cambio level 1, a regular card that I think is a great enemy attack absorber.

3. Warrior of Peace level 3, a gold card place a good attack absorber but in my opinion not put at the right place to protect its line.

4. Goblin mech level 5, a regular card placed in the worst position possible in this match

5. Prismatic energy level 4, a regular card bringing magic attack as well as great storage of life

6. Silvershield sheriff level 3, a regular card with great range attack with speed and life point when put at the right place can cause a lot of damage.

Although I could not anticipate the selection of my opponent, I knew that I will face many monsters with a large volume of life. Therefore, I made sure that all my offensive cards could put more damage on the opposite side.

Summoner: Daria Dragonscale level 5, was selected to unlock the abilities of the monsters and increase the melee attack. The death element monsters were selected for this match.

Here is a description of my lineup.

1. Kobo-dragon knight was in the first position to shield the rest of the team with its defense around 8 and life around 9.

2. Octopider level 5, range attack 4 points was sharpening its tentacles

3. Grim reaper level 6, a regular card that has also 4 points range attack.

4. Phantom soldier level 3, magic attack 3 points with 9 points of life. I like how resilient Phantom is on the battlefield.

5. Prismatic energy level 5, brought to my line of defense ten points of life, although it was not well-positioned on my offensive line.

6. Boogeyman level 5 at last, its magic attack of two was there to finish off the remaining life point of critical damage opposite line

The line of both teams was not perfect but the outcome of the battle remains a surprise up to the last rounds.

My strategies

Kobo-Dragon was a key monster in the success of this strategy then came Octopider to seal the feat of my opponent. In the battle with the back to basic, I had to withstand all attacks from the first and second round while depleting the life point of as many monsters as possible. My lineup had successfully brought my strategies lives. In fact, the second round finished with Lord Arianthus and Almo Cambio defeated while no friendly monsters left my line. It was risky on my part to position Octopider and Grim reaper both range monster so close to the front line. Octopider has the capacity to withstand many attacks and cause great damage. However, my opponent made an even terrible error by placing Globlin mech too far from the frontline. When it came the time to challenge both my range and magic monsters my opponent Mech couldn't do much. It was a victorious game that lasts in total of eight rounds, where Octopider played perfectly its key role.

image.pngimage.png

If you are interested in the current contest, please get more information concerning a battle challenge shared on a specific theme Octopider, link to the official contest announcement Splinterlands Weekly challenge

We had the pleasure to complete this weekly battle challenge article since the rulesets were balanced in a way that maximal mana cap monsters were limited in their ability to induce critical damage. Octopider has gained much power over the weeks since the two previous seasons. Death monsters were leveled up and unlock abilities allow me to secures many victories against powerful opponents.

In general back to basics ruleset in battle lead to the appearance of magic monsters on the board. I have lost many ranking battles due to lack of magic reflect equipped summoner or a strong water element magic monsters. As soon as I saw my adversary selection I knew that the absence of heavy magic attackers will greatly improve my chance to win the match. Contessa Lament from the death series of cards could have been selected as summoner for this battle.

------------------------------ yj7rf8.png ------------------------------
src1

The proportion of DEC tokens received in comparison to potion and cards has significantly increased since the start of the current season. The bidding market has offered as usual cheap cards of the untamed series. In addition, Rewards series such as Centauri mage bought on bid market and combined up to level five. The repair ability unlocks at the level five Centauri mage strengthens our earth team strategies for the coming battle. Besides the rental cards of the dragon series have continued to support our effort to progress faster in the gold league and beyond the Diamond II. Fiendish Harpy is one of the dragon cards that has always an empty spot to fill before the battle. I can guaranty Fiendish will surprise you in its ability to shift the balance of power in the arena.

Dark Energy Chrystal on the Hive-engine market is still very low when we analyze the DEC chart against Hive. The price a the time of publication of this post is around 0.0016HIVE for one DEC.

------------------------------ yj7rf8.png ------------------------------
src1

Thanks for reading this Octopider Battle challenge and spend some time on my blog.

If you have not started to play, check-in for free here my referral links

The officials telegram group Splinterlandstelegram



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency