Strategy Corner #57- Even Stevens Ruleset - what splinter is the best for it ?

image.png

Hiya Splinterlanders :)

I promised to catch up on any news related to Splinterlands Ecosystem, but still, I'm in traveling and exploring mode, and I cannot find any spare minutes to do this. Additionally, with the new tournament system, my performance is so low, usually I play all my matches half-sleeping :(. Fortunately, I still managed to find some time for writing this article:).
And today, we have a ruleset: Even Stevens, something that limits quite drastically our collection :). Let's jump to the definition:

image.png


image.png

Description:

Only units with even mana costs may be used.

This rule does not apply to summoners.

Firstly, the description of the ruleset in the game is not perfect, sometimes you got just general information which not giving you all information you need. Best way to read the full description as above from the game documentation at least once. You can check all here.

Usually, I encourage you guys to check the help site for more information about gameplay mechanisms and cards that could be good in specific rulesets. Today, we got no more information there :).

And from my perspective, I don't have too much to say either :). Of course, depending on your collection some splinters could be better with only even mana cards available, but recently with so many new cards and new sets I think, for every splinter could find some good setup. My personal favorite is Earth, mostly because of Queen Mycelia very versatile card. So maybe let's jump to battle and than try to analyze and summarize earth splinter.

image.png


image.png

Today's battle is a Wild format ladder match. This time my card's level was higher, but the opponent got Kitty, is it scary enough? let' see:

image.png

An aimless ruleset guarantees quite a randomness for that battle, but still, I guess for higher mana match is not the thing that defines the battle.
Lily could be helpful here with that triage ability. We have tank heal as well and some weapon training with Magic Reflect from Pelacor Conjurer.
The opponent has a strong damage output team with some of the support abilities like resurrection.

image.png

Round 2, no casualties, but we had quite a luck with hitting the Chaos Dragon with blast damage, so Reflection Shield was useless here.

image.png

Round 3, a great turn for us, we killed two units, and one of them was resurrected, and we did not lose any units yet.

image.png

Round 4, Lily was doing a great job here, keeping all our monsters alive till now. We even cannot lose our martyr units to get some buff :).

image.png

Final Blow - Round 5 - wow, the fight looked so much equal in the beginning, and the end was fast and we did not lose anything here.

image.png


image.png

The match looked so much equal, but even when you compare pure damage output, it seemed that the opponent had an advantage here. Of course, with the Aimless ruleset, you need to count on some luck and here we got it quite a lot. Firstly our Aves Strugis survived the whole fight, and its HP is just 4. Weapon training after new changes seems overpowered, and those nasty support units are so dangerous now.
I think the real MVP here was Lily Shieldpaw, whom we will talk about here in our Core Team section.
Sometimes card level is more important, here the Bear with Halving was a great addition to our team, and with healing and some luck it survived a lot of damage.
Our team did a great job here, so let's check our choices.


image.png

image.png

LILY SHIELDPAW, disappointed is not enough to describe my feeling after I see the Lily in the action after release. It was supposed to be the new Kitty, but Summoner was just ok. I think Lilu found her spot/niche, there are some good strategies to use here. Still, it is not a very versatile summoner, but she is not useless. In our battle, that triage ability was so important, and of course additional health points, but I think +2 could be the better idea for Lily (but maybe a little overpowered, what do you think ? )

image.png

VRUZ is a great card, but I guess I cannot just usually find a good dragon setup (with good summoner) to use it. All martyr cards are just good or great, and Vraz is not an exception. Unfortunately, usually, when you want to use Dragon Summoner,you want to utilize those high mana, high powered dragons cards, and there is just no place for Vruz there :).

image.png

AVES STURGIS, it has been a while, since we last saw AVES in Core Team section. I could probably put her here every time, and I still think that the nerf could be a better way to deal with that card. On the bronze level with lower mana , the card is almost unbeatable. Great damage, annoying heal, and a lot of HP. And it's interesting for super sneak, where magic damage could be big surprise. You do not need anything else, oh no sorry on the silver level we got an additional Immunity ability and later dispelled.

image.png


image.png

I have to say, that Even Stevens ruleset doesn't seem very exciting, maybe that's why today's post is not either :). Of course, there could be more effective setups depending on the splinter, but I think the difference between them will diminish as new sets are added to the game. So far my small top 3 splinters for Even Steven's ruleset are Earth, Death, and Life. So usually if any of them are available I start from that order. But as I mentioned above it very depends on the collection you have, with some other older cards you still have a very solid team for all the colors.

Another thing, I'm curious what will be the next topic for Battle Mage Secrets after we finish all rulesets? Any idea guys?

image.png

I hope you like this kind of report, battle, and strategy presentation. More strategy analysis, discussion, and prediction games you can find on my Wednesday Twitch Channel stream. There will be schedule soon :)

If you have any comments, please do not hesitate. Do you think I could improve anything just tell me :)


image.png

If you wish to try out Splinterlands you can use my reference link.

Thumbnails and other pictures borrowed with permission from the Splinterlands team or made in Cooltext

image.png

We continue our game from the previous week, today new battle, new card to win :).

I come up with some ideas, I hope you will like them and participate. Every week I will publish one battle, and your goal is to point out the first victim of the battle and who will be the winner. This game is exactly the same as my prediction game which I run on my Wednesday Splinterlands.tv stream. I know that not everyone can attend the stream, so I hope you will still have fun in that way. More about the rules can be read here.

Among all participants who get the correct answer, I will randomly (probably on my Wednesday stream) choose one winner.

The prize of the blog prediction game for the lucky winner will be the epic card:


image.png

Here we got the battle:


image.png

Game instruction:
Try to point out which monster will die first on the battlefield and who wins the battle

  • t - top player
  • b - bottom player
  • number - order counting from the first position

Examples:
t2b = monster on the second position of top player dies first, the bottom player wins
b6t = monster on the sixth position of bottom player dies first, the top player wins
t3t = monster on the third position of top player dies first, the top player wins

image.png

image.png

Previous articles:

90
89
88
87
86
85
84
83
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments