Splinterlands: Failed Summoner is a great tank when melee monsters can't be used

Splinterlands is a complex game and it allows for various different cards and strategies. Each fight is different as there are various different rulesets applied and this can give specific cards an advantage depending on how you use them. In this post, I talk about a great battle where I won because of Failed Summoner.

Featured cards

image.png
Failed Summoner is an earth splinter that costs 2 mana. This card starts off with the magic reflect ability. It learns at demoralize at level 6 and strengthen at level 8. I have this card at level 2 as a gold foil and 5 as a normal foil. Since I am not playing Wild league and I play gold foil brawls, I am only using the gold foil version for now.

Rule set, Battle and Plan

rule set.png

The ruleset this time is Keep Your Distance, Aimless and FiveAlive. This means that no melee monsters can be used, only up to 5 monsters can be used and all monsters gain the scattershot ability. There is also 38 mana and I can choose earth or dragon splinter.

SplinterMana CostPositionReason
Obsidian4Summoner+1 Magic
Failed Summoner21stMagic Reflect
Regal Peryton52ndFlying
Fungus Flinger33rdMartyr
Goblin Psychic64thTank heal
Hunter Jarx65thSnipe
Total Mana:26

image.png
Obsidian is my summoner for its +1 magic. My tank is Failed Summoner to deal with the first magic monster. Regal Peryton is up next as it is quite fast with flying. Then I have a martyr monster in the 3rd spot to buff up my magic monsters. My fourth spot is a monster with tank heal and my last monster is just a ranged monster with snipe.

Round 1

round 1.png
At first glance, I think this match can go either way. It depends on whether or not that magic reflects can land enough and for my monsters to focus fire on a few of my opponent's monsters. I think that my opponent just has more damage so I will need some luck.

Round 2

round 2.png
I was able to focus fire on one monster but I lost Regal. It looks like the new ability to target flying monsters ignores the tank-only monster even when it is in the first position. I still have a chance in this match but it's not looking that great for me.

Round 3

round 3.png
I was able to take out my opponent's tank but the rest of my lineup is in danger. I still think its possible to win the match but it's not looking so great.

Round 4

round 4.png
Luck was on my side. The martyr buffed up my last magic monster and I could take out two monsters last round. Now this match will rely on whether or not scattershot plays in my favor or not. I am hoping for a few attacks to land on my ranged monster so my magic monster stays alive longer.

conclusion.png
I was able to win the match a few rounds later because my magic monster stayed alive.

Conclusion

The battle this time did not play out as I expected. I was able to win because I got lucky. My magic reflect helped me enough to deal damage and then my healer was able to push me through. The martyr monster buffed up my healer's speed and that gave it a chance to survive. The odds weren't in my favor but luck pulled through.

You can see my entire match here.

What did you think of my match? Was there anything you would have done differently? I think it is quite interesting to see how different players use the same card.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center