2024 Battle Of The Day 156/366

ReportJune4_156.png

Thanks for coming to my daily #Splinterlands Battle of the Day #BOTD for your reading and watching enjoyment.

BATTLE LINK -- June 4, 2024 -- Day 156 of 366 vs. @yabapmatt

Screenshot 2024-06-05 003511.png

Sometimes you just need a lucky miss to pull through a tight battle, and I sure had lady luck on my side in this triple ruleset, 19-mana battle against Splinterlands creator and CEO, Yabapmatt. Of course, I wouldn't have even had a chance to win if it wasn't for today's featured card, Fungus Fiend!

Matt and I had similar strategies in this low-mana battle -- Akane + Venka to get the jump on the opponent's lineup. However, Matt's tank was superior to mine because it could take a hit from Venka without dying while my Venka defenses were much flimsier.

His Venka was guaranteed to trample over my first two monsters during the ambush. This also meant that he could threaten my Venka during Round 1 attacks, but I couldn't get to his Venka until Round 2.

Enter our hero -- Fungus Fiend! Although it sat uselessly out of combat at the back of my lineup as sneak protection, its Slow ability saved the day. I needed his Venka to miss a 1st Round attack on my Vruz (20% to miss) or my Venka (10% to miss). Although he hits the Vruz, he misses my Venka! The Slow ability from the earth fiend was the only reason there was a speed difference between our two maxed monsters, allowing for the potential of a miss.

The edge in speed also meant that my Venka was guaranteed to attack first in Round 2, and was assured to take out his Venka and trample the range monster. Chaos Agent was the last to fall after getting to dodge, but the lucky win over the CEO was finally mine, plus the SPS and Glint rewards that came with it!

RNG -- just like it's supposed to be, right?! All for the love of the game!

Enjoy the content? Leave a like/comment and check out BOTD 155 from yesterday!

SPL divider.png

If you're curious about any of the guilds I belong to, I've linked the pictures below with an invite to each guild's Discord servers.

Come by, give me a shout, and check us out!


Proud member of the original KoG alliance guild, Tier 5 Brawlers, and the Top-ranked guild in Splinterlands: @shield-of-glory

image0.gif

SPL divider.png

Proud member of YGG Brawlers (Niðavellir), 1 of 7 elite Brawler guilds within the Yield Guild Games Splinterlands alliance: @yggspl-official

YGGSPL.png

SPL divider.png

Proud member of my 1st guild and a recent YGG member,
the always affable YGG 420 Fam, on Hive as @the420syndicate.

420 Guilds Small.png

Templates were used, AI was not!
Your thoughtful comments are valued!
What did you think of the battle?
Reactions?? Suggestions??
Let me know about it below!
image.png
Image Credit: @Splinterlands
Referral Link.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now