SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! CAVE SLUGS

image.png

Lore
Cave slugs are monsters that reside in the dark abyss of Baluthar's Deep. They hide in plain sight and attacks and kill their victims immediately.

Stats of Cave Slug
Level 1:
Mana:
HP: 4
Speed: 1
Damage: 2

image.png

Details of the Card

This is a standard monster card that belongs to the Life Summoner Deck. A standard card is a card that is available to all users.

The Cave Slug is a melee monster with opportunity abilities which allows it to attack units with low HP.

Strategy that best fits the Cave Slug
The use of Cave Slug is situational. This is because it is a slow unit which means it could be attacked first by enemy cards with sneak and snipe.

The best situation where it could be used is when the ruleset is Reverse Speed which allows the card with lowest speed attack first.

Another case where this unit is best deployed is against a lineup with low HP units like pure Water-based Magic Damage Line-up or low hp Death Lineup. This strategy only works if you could prolong the battle by using Shieldbearer or any high armor and high hp tank.

It is not advisable to use Cave Slug in low mana battles because it requires 5 Mana to play it. Best to use it at 23 Mana and above because with extra more mana you could include in your line up Silvershield Knight or the Feral Spirit.

image.png

If you can afford, include in your line up the Silvershield Assassin or the Divine Healer.

image.png

In a full line-up, I usually place my Cave slug in the 3rd or 4th line so that it won't be attacked by those card with sneak and snipe.

Just like in this battle.

Background of the Fight
The fight allows 30 Mana and the ruleset provides Divine Shield to all units fighting.
Divine shield negates the first attack.

My line-up
Given this ruleset, I thought of using Tyrus Paladium which gives +1 Armor. This is a good combo for the ruleset because it increases my survivability.

image.png

I thought the Silvershield Assassin would be useful here because it can attack twice. First attack would remove the Divine Shield while the second one will damage the HP of the unit. I thought of buffing this unit with Silvershield Knight with its Inspire ability, giving +1 Melee damage to allies.

I decided to put the Silvershield Knight at 2nd line and put Lord Arianthus as the tank. This card is a good thank because it reduces melee, range and magic damage.

If for some reason the Silvershield Assassin is unable to give the death blow, the Cave Slug would come and finish the opponent.

I also added the Divine Healer to increase the damage that my tank could take and the extra 1 mana, I spent it to the Creeping Ooze which is just another cannon fodder at my back rank.

image.png

Opponent's line-up
image.png

At Round 1, my enemy attacked first because he had faster lineup, but his speed was negated by my armor and the Divine Shield. My counter attack started with the Silvershield Assassin immediately killing the Ooze.

On Round 2, my tank absorbed all the damage that the enemy could muster. Again, the Assassin lived up to its name killing the enemy's high damage unit but low hp, the Serpentine Spy. At this round, my Divine Healer restored the hp of my tank.

Those units not killed by the Assassin was finished off by the Slug as I have planned.

After the death of the enemy's 2 card, my victory was assured because the enemy cannot pass the tank barrier which I have erected.

At Round 8, the fight was over and I didn't even lose any card.

Insights
On its own, the Cave Slug cannot win fights. It must be combined with a good tank so that the Cave slug could pick up the low hp enemy at the back rank.

If you would like to play this game, I would appreciate if you use my referral link.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency