Throwback Friday - Using Centaur in Battle!

This week's challenge was to use the Centaur! I was excited to use it because it had recently rotated out of the beginner set of cards, and this was a good excuse to rent one and get reacquainted with an old friend.

If you wanted to check out the action, the Battle Link is right here. Want to hear some more about the lineup? Read on further!

image.png


The ruleset was super simple so I thought it was as good a time as any to give the Centaur a try.
Centaur is ranged, so it seemed like natural to use General Sloan in order to boost damage output.
First up, our tank. Shieldbearer has a huge amount of HP and armor. I was worried about my opponent using magic so the HP part was particularly important.
Next, the damage output. Crystalsmith to keep the Shieldbearer alive and to be the emergency secondary tank. And finally, our star of the week - Centaur! Both of these damagers are ranged and get the boost from General Sloan, plus Centaur's snipe ability can take advantage of potential weaknesses in the enemy lineup.

image.png

Then we went into battle. When I saw the lineups I was hopeful - my opponent had picked a mix of melee and magic, which meant that my Shieldbearer tank could make use of both armor and HP. Also, the magic they choose was a little squishy.

battle start.png


My first impression turned out to be correct. The Centaur really was the MVP here - taking out my opponents Khmer Princess early was clutch, and a huge reason of why my tank was able to survive! The Shieldbearer + Crystalsmith combo was then able to hold up long enough for my damage to knock out the enemy tank.

Screenshot 2021-12-17 06.53.01.png


Soon, both the Unicorn Mustang the Princess were out of the way, bringing the other team's damage output was low enough that Crystalsmith heals were good enough to keep the Shieldbearer alive indefinitely. At this point, the battle is all but over. And again, if you wanted to see the whole battle for yourself, you can see it right here.

Screenshot 2021-12-17 06.54.46.png


The strategy worked out perfectly - my tank held up while the ranged damage in the back was able to take out the enemy lineup. This week made me remember how much I enjoyed using Centaur before - having a 4 cost unit with snipe was really nice! I am now considering purchasing one to use now that it isn't part of the beginner spellbook set.

image.png

Thank you so much for reading all the way to the end. Interested in seeing some more of my writing in the future? Be sure to give me a follow! In the meantime, if you'd like to see some of my recent posts:


Thinking about giving Splinterlands a try but haven't signed up yet? Feel free to use my referral link, and be sure to reach out to me if you have any questions!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center