Week 3 as a new player in Splinterlands: Trying Out Gold League

week3thumb.jpg

I'm back after another busy week playing Splinterlands. Check out my recaps of Week 1 and Week 2 if you missed them. Now, on to Week 3!

Guild Progress

I mentioned last time that I had just been accepted into a guild. The guild was pretty much starting from scratch, with no real building progress and full of new players to the game. Now, in just a few days, we're already halfway to our first building upgrade! We've still got a long way to go, but it's been nice to watch our guild steadily progress each day. We know there's a big update coming to guilds at some point in the future, so hopefully we can get ourselves into a position where we can fully experience it.

guildhall.png

Gold League

While I did manage to climb to Gold League on the final day of last season, I didn't really get to experience it before the league reset. This season, I climbed to Gold within the first few days. This may have been a mistake on my part. While the rewards have increased, so has the difficulty of the competition, and I have been losing many more battles since moving up to Gold.

I'm still renting some powerful cards that get me through a lot of battles, but what I am lacking is a wide range of cards above level 1. One of the perks of having a legendary summoner is the ability to summon higher level monsters, and that is something I haven't really been able to take advantage of. Outside of a few gold cards that I have rented, most of my cards are still level 1.

Players in Gold also seem to have much broader collections in general, as I often encounter cards that I have never even seen before. For example, I was not familiar with Armorsmith, a Life common that restores armor to a friendly monster each turn. This seemingly innocuous card has cost me a few battles, as I would get stuck attacking an enemy monster's armor over and over without ever touching their health. However, now that I know about it, I can rent it myself. I just picked up a copy from the market this morning, and I look forward to trying him out in battle!


armorsmith.png

I'll keep trying to improve my collection for Gold league play, but I'll have to carefully consider how I want to climb next season. It may be more beneficial to stay in Silver until the end of the season if I still can't compete as well in Gold. I'll give it some thought.

The Market

While I have been doing plenty of renting (maybe too much—between rental costs and guild contributions, I'm not netting a ton of DEC this season), I haven't been buying any cards. This is only natural; rental prices are much cheaper than buying a card outright, and as a new player, resources are tight. However, I think I'm getting to the point where I have enough extra Reward cards that I can start selling some off and buying some of the essentials. Because of that, I've started paying a bit more attention to that side of the market. I actually managed to notice a decent deal the other day and was able to flip a Qid Yuff for a quick 150 DEC profit. I'll be sure to keep an eye out for more deals like that in the future to help fund my play.

Giveaway

giveawaycards.jpg

Last week, I mentioned that I was thinking of running a giveaway, and now I have! Check it out here for a chance to win a free common Reward card and/or an SBI share. As of the time of this writing, you have about 5 days left to enter before the drawing. We'll see how this one goes and maybe do some more in the future, but it's been a fun experience to do this for the first time and be able to give something back to the Splinterlands community.

Until Next Time

That's all I've got for this week. Thanks for reading, and I hope you'll join me in a week for my next recap!

splinterbanner.png

If you enjoyed this article, please consider giving an upvote, a follow, or even a reblog. Any show of support is appreciated.

Haven't even started playing Splinterlands yet? You must have been pretty bored to read this whole post without any idea what I've been talking about. Instead of just reading about Splinterlands, why don't you follow this link and try the game out for yourself?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center