Week 2 as a New Splinterlands Player

week2.jpg

A week ago I told you about my first week's experience playing Splinterlands, so it's time to fill you in on week 2.

Down For Maintenance

Yes, as you probably experienced for yourself, the game had some issues towards the end of the season and was down for quite a while. The team is working hard at scaling up the systems to accommodate all the new players like myself, and I'm sure that they'll get everything sorted out. But this downtime really showed my just how engaged I already was with the game, as I could not wait to get back on and play. Even while the game was down, I was busy scouring PeakMonsters for rentals. I managed to pick up quite a few good cards to help me climb, as well as a ton of cheap gold cards for power.

powercards.png

End of Season

As it turned out, the game came back online a few hours before the end of the season, and I was able to finish my daily quests and battle up to Gold league before the end of the season. Unfortunately, my season rewards were not very exciting, just a whole bunch of commons, a few potions, and a whopping 72 DEC. Better luck next time, I guess. On the plus side, I think I'm going to run some giveaways using those commons I pulled, so stay tuned for that!

Tournaments

I've also started entering a few tournaments recently. Now, I'm not exactly a great player yet, so I keep placing right in the middle of the pack. However, I'm at least smart enough to recognize that and make sure to enter tournaments that reward the middle of the pack. So far I've earned about 700 DEC from my distinctly average performance. Oh, and I also took a screenshot to commemorate an early lead I had in one tournament before I plummeted.

tourney.png

Guild

But what else do you see in that screenshot? Frost Bitten? Yes, that's right, I was accepted into a guild. That should give some hope to all the new players desperately trying to find a home. This is a guild I applied to shortly after joining the game, and they just accepted me during the season end downtime. I think they were fairly inactive before that, but now we're turning things around and working on building our first guild hall upgrade. I'm looking forward to finding out what these brawls are all about once we have access to them.

Until Next Time

That's it for this week. Keep an eye out for those upcoming giveaways once I have all the details in place, and I'll see you next time.

splinterbanner.png

If you enjoyed this post, please consider giving an upvote, a follow, or even a reblog. Tell your friends, tell your family, tell every stranger you meet on the street, and maybe even etch it into an aluminum plaque and send it out to the far reaches of space so the aliens can enjoy it too! No, but seriously, any show of support is appreciated.

Haven't even started playing Splinterlands yet? You must have been pretty bored to read through this whole post without having any idea what I was talking about. Instead of just reading about it, why don't you follow this link and try it out for yourself?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now