Abandoned Secret. / Secreto Abandonado

png_20220413_213409_0000.png

Today is my 20th birthday and since I was a teenager I have always asked my mother when my dad would come back home after he was taken away by the police when I was four. I couldn't really remember everything vividly because the memory was hazy but the memory of my dad being taken away stuck to my memory. Today, I had already made up my mind that I was going to pressure my mom to tell me what really happened that day. I need to know why my dad was taken away.

Not long I heard my mom opening the front door. So I quickly went downstairs to welcome her. She was looking exhausted, which is constant for you as a nurse in a reputable government hospital.

"Mom, how was your day?" I said as I went to hug her and take her work bag.

"No, how was your day birthday boy?"

"It went well, but I missed you."

"I am sorry your birthday clashed with my work"

"It's okay mom, I understand"

"Sit down I want to talk to you about something important"

Quickly I sat down waiting in anticipation for what she wanted to say. Mom hesitated and took a big breath before she started to talk.

"Jack, I know you have been wondering why your dad was taken away by the police when you were four, but I felt you were too young to comprehend what exactly happened that fateful day even though you talked about it all the time."

I saw that she worried and sad, but then I said, "Whatever it is mom, please tell me, I want know, I can take it"

"Alright, but promise me you won't think less of yourself. Well, your dad was taken away because he is a pedophile and had killed lots of little children for his nefarious acts".

When I heard the words coming from my mom's mouth, a sense of vertigo caused me to grab one of the throw pillows on our couch and hold it to my chest."*

“Well, for a while your dad has been messing with you and he threatened to kill me if I spoke up. Months passed and I was fed up with treating your injuries. It always broke my heart to see you in pain. The day I decided to report to the police with the evidence I had risked my life to hide from yourdaddy, I felt ashamed of myself that I hadn't fought for you all the months your dad messed with you. After I had filed a report, I was too scared to come back home because your dad might find out I had reported him. So I stayed in the police while the police officer came for your dad."

Hearing all my mom said, I was in shock when all of sudden I began to cry bitterly with different emotions springing up inside me. I couldn't hold the pain I was feeling until my mom came over to hold me tight.

"I am so sorry my boy! Forgive me for not fighting for you earlier. I was a fool and I will do this for the rest of my life."

I sniffed and looked into the eyes of my mother and said, "Mom, I love you so much and you are the best thing that has happened to me. I appreciate all you do for me mom and I can never blame you for anything."

Hearing those words my mom held me tight to her chest and all I felt was love, light, protection and I knew right there and then that no matter where I go in the world, I will always run home to my safe haven which is my mom. Then I felt this certain peace, knowing that my dad was rotten in jail for all his atrocities done to me and other children like me.

Image from pixabay and design using canva


png_20220413_213409_0000.png

Hoy cumplo 20 años y desde que era adolescente siempre le preguntaba a mi madre cuándo volvería mi padre a casa después de que se lo llevara la policía cuando yo tenía cuatro años. No podía recordar todo con claridad porque la memoria era borrosa, pero el recuerdo de que se llevaron a mi padre se me quedó grabado en la memoria. Hoy, ya había tomado la decisión de que iba a presionar a mi madre para que me contara lo que realmente sucedió aquel día. Necesito saber por qué se llevaron a mi padre.

No tardé en oír a mi madre abriendo la puerta principal. Así que bajé rápidamente a recibirla. Parecía agotada, lo que es constante en una enfermera de un reputado hospital público.

"Mamá, ¿qué tal el día?", le dije mientras iba a abrazarla y a coger su bolsa de trabajo.

"No, ¿qué tal tu día, cumpleañero?"

"Ha ido bien, pero te he echado de menos".

"Siento que tu cumpleaños coincida con mi trabajo"

"Está bien mamá, lo entiendo"

"Siéntate, quiero hablarte de algo importante"

Rápidamente me senté esperando lo que quería decir. Mamá dudó y tomó un gran respiro antes de empezar a hablar.

"Jack, sé que te has estado preguntando por qué la policía se llevó a tu padre cuando tenías cuatro años, pero me pareció que eras demasiado joven para comprender lo que ocurrió exactamente ese fatídico día, aunque hablabas de ello todo el tiempo".

Vi que estaba preocupada y triste, pero entonces le dije: "Sea lo que sea mamá, por favor, dímelo, quiero saberlo, puedo soportarlo".

"Está bien, pero prométeme que no pensarás mal de ti. Bueno, a tu papá se lo llevaron porque es un pedófilo y había matado a muchos niños pequeños por sus actos nefastos".

"Cuando oí las palabras que salían de la boca de mi madre, una sensación de vértigo me hizo agarrar uno de los cojines de nuestro sofá y sujetarlo contra mi pecho".

"Bueno, durante un tiempo tu padre se ha estado metiendo contigo y me amenazó con matarme si hablaba. Pasaron los meses y me harté de tratar tus heridas. Siempre me rompía el corazón verte sufrir. El día que decidí denunciar a la policía con las pruebas que había arriesgado mi vida para ocultar a tu padre, me sentí avergonzada de mí misma por no haber luchado por ti todos los meses que tu padre se metió contigo. Después de presentar la denuncia, tenía demasiado miedo de volver a casa porque tu padre podría descubrir que le había denunciado. Así que me quedé en la policía mientras el agente venía a por tu padre".

Al escuchar todo lo que dijo mi madre, me quedé en estado de shock cuando, de repente, empecé a llorar amargamente con diferentes emociones que brotaban dentro de mí. No pude contener el dolor que sentía hasta que mi madre se acercó para abrazarme con fuerza.

"¡Lo siento mucho, hijo mío! Perdóname por no haber luchado antes por ti. Fui un tonto y lo haré por el resto de mi vida".

Olfateé y miré a los ojos de mi madre y dije: *"Mamá, te quiero mucho y eres lo mejor que me ha pasado. Te agradezco todo lo que haces por mí, mamá, y nunca podré culparte de nada".

Al escuchar esas palabras, mi madre me abrazó con fuerza contra su pecho y todo lo que sentí fue amor, luz, protección y supe allí mismo que, no importa a dónde vaya en el mundo, siempre correré a casa, a mi refugio seguro que es mi madre. Entonces sentí cierta paz, sabiendo que mi padre estaba podrido en la cárcel por todas sus atrocidades hechas a mí y a otros niños como yo.

Imagen de pixabay y diseño con canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center