Carly

Love is a gift everyone one deserves, but not everyone can give love. This saying best describes my life. That was my story.

I was the only child of my parents, one would think that since I am the only child I would be showered with love and care by my parents, at least that was the stereotype in this part of the world. But in my case love was what I was lacking. I get to see my parents only at night, at the dinner table just before I retire to bed. They were so busy at work I never really got to see them except at the dinner table or on Sundays when we went to church.
One day I read in a blog that dogs show more love and care, and ever since I longed to own one. I needed someone to share my wins, time, pains with. Someone that understands my mood. And if I wasn't going to get that from mum and dad then I needed a dog.

But how am I going to get one I didn't have enough cash for one and my allowance wasn't until the end of the month. I talked to an elder friend about it and he asked me to speak to the universe and watch it gift me a dog. I didn't really take it serious as I shouted loud into the street I need a dog. Few days passed and nothing happened. My allowance was the last hope.

One Saturday morning, I stood at my window as the rain ran through the glass pane. Mum and dad had left as always, early to work with the rain. Lost in thoughts I stared at the raindrops. Just then I heard a loud bang on the door. It was Ikem, my classmate and friend who lived down the road. I could tell from how he paused some seconds at every second knock before letting out the third. His usual style. I dashed to the door opened up and he beckoned me to follow him. He was given a new game console yesterday and we were going to check it out today. I hurriedly grabbed my coat and ran after him. We were join by two other friends down the road. Gisting and flapping through the rain. As we got to a bend that leads to Ikem's house just close to an abandoned tunnel. I saw a something moved within the bushes. Unfettered, I walked closer to see what it was, the guys had left me, not worrying if I was coming along. As I got closer, there it was sitting under the tunnel cold, in distress a dog. It looked weak and cold, I tried calling on it to come but rather she moved back. I brought out some cookies I had in my pocket and gave to her. She hurriedly ate all untill all three cookies was finished. I sat there with her until the rain stopped then I carried her home. I didn't care if I had missed the game with the boys. At this point what really mattered was taking care of the poor dog.
I fed, bath and let Carly sleep on the makeshift cot I made with an old carton for my books. I was gonna keep Carly and give her the love she deserved, at least that is what every living thing deserves and what I deserve too. The universe finally answered me. I named her Carly, my first pet.

img_0.6021529408978502.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency