Nutcracker Crochet: Mouse King

IMG_3786.JPG

In my post from January about amigurumi based on patterns from the Nutcracker Crochet kit, I mentioned I would put it aside for a while since it felt strange to work on them outside of the Christmas season. At the time I thought I had another idea for crochet stuff, but that got a bit derailed (I’m hoping to get back to it eventually). Without any ideas for projects I ended up not crocheting for a while, and during the summer I decided I should try to get back into what had been working for me even if it wasn’t seasonally appropriate. I picked another project from the Nutracker Crochet book, the Mouse King, and started working on it.

IMG_1861.JPG

IMG_2230.JPG

IMG_2233.JPG

IMG_2236.JPG

However, the part that always gives me trouble with these patterns, joining the legs to form the torso, ended up giving me trouble again and I got pretty frustrated. I was using the technique of using scraps of different colored yarn to mark stitches, but with all those free yarn ends around the critical area I was having a hard time finding the right stitches to be sure I was doing it correctly. So I put it aside for a while again, until November when I finally decided to get some plastic stitch markers and get started again.

IMG_3576.JPG

IMG_3597.JPG

IMG_3618.JPG

IMG_3620.JPG

IMG_3621.JPG

Unfortunately I ran out of the gray yarn I was using before I could complete the tail. I tried to pick apart some of the gray from a set of legs I had abandoned from back when I was messing up the join, but in the process of crocheting with and then hurriedly unstitching the yarn I damaged it enough that it kept fraying at the worst possible time so I literally couldn’t even see some of the stitches I was trying to do. I decided to put the project aside again, because I also needed to work on a crochet project for a handmade Christmas gift exchange I do with my brothers and sisters. After I finished that earlier this week I got back to the Mouse King. I used some different gray yarn for the tail, which isn’t a perfect color match, but pretty close.

IMG_3777.JPG

IMG_3778.JPG

And then I completed and attached the clothing accessories.

IMG_3779.JPG

IMG_3781.JPG

IMG_3783.JPG

IMG_3784.JPG

And here he is, completed!

IMG_3788.JPG

IMG_3792.JPG

IMG_3797.JPG


Over the past few months I’ve started an activity where my teenage niece and I each write a poem during the week to give us a topic of conversation when we have zoom calls with each other. One week I wrote a poem inspired by the experience of working on this project, which I posted here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now